HIST090 Secondary Sources

Home | Research Strategies | Secondary Sources | Primary Sources
Books
eBooks

Benner Library eBook collections

Google Print: Free, book digitization project between Google, selected libraries, and publishers

Selected Online Reference Collections
Scholarly Publications
Bibliographies

"BIBLIOGRAPHY - This term can be used in two ways: (1) References used while doing research for an article or book. These are gathered together at the end of the work, usually arranged alphabetically by author. (2) A publication that consists only of a list of books, articles and other works on a particular topic. Sometimes bibliographies are annotated; that is, they include brief abstracts summarizing the important features of the works. Bibliographies of both types can be very valuable in locating information on a subject." from Auburn University Library.

How to find bibliographies (books and article) from Duke Libraries

Book reviews

Please refer to the Book Reviews Subject Guidepage for links to some online sources and detailed instructions for finding book reviews.

Scholarly Article Databases
     Criminal Justice Abstracts

    Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Textâ„¢ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole. (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

     Dissertations and Theses

    Over 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Citations in more recent years include abstracts written by the author. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download. Coverage: 1861 - Current (Some full text) Service = ProQuest

     Sociology Source Ultimate

    Sociology Source Ultimate provides the must-have materials for students studying aspects of human behavior and interaction. Coverage of topics ranges from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

     World Catalog (WorldCat)

    OCLC catalog of books and other materials that libraries own worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records, including records representing 400 languages. (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = OCLC (305)

Free Resources
Google Scholar - Links to citations/abstracts/fulltext of articles and books. Some resources are free, some are for a fee, some are available through Olivet's subscription databases
Google Books
Fulltext options
     Journal Search

    Use this tool to search for journals available through Benner Library both in print and electronic forms. () Service = Ex Libris

Can't find the article you're looking for? Use the ILL form.

The content of the page was updated by Judson Strain, Reference Librarian, on 05/24/2014.