HIST090 Primary Resources

Free online collections | Print Indexes | Subscription Resources |
Government documents | Archives | Regional libraries, archives, museums

Can't find the article you're looking for? Use the ILL form.

 Chicago Tribune (Historical) Toggle Dropdown

(1849-2010) This database includes full page and article images with searchable full text for all issues of the Chicago Daily Tribune, Chicago Press & tribune, and Chicago Tribune up until 1996. Newer content is added periodically by the database publisher. Note: Benner Library has a current print subscription and retains three months. (Full text) Service = ProQuest

 Harper's Weekly Toggle Dropdown

A 19th century illustrated newspaper, searchable by keyword, subject headings and additional finding aids. (Full text) Service = Alexander Street Press, LLC

 New York Times (Nexis) Toggle Dropdown

Takes you to a page where it is set up to limit the search to only the New York Times. Coverage is from 6/1/1980 to the present. (Full text) Service = LexisNexis

 New York Times (Historical) Toggle Dropdown

The New York Times (1851-2015) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage: Sept 18, 1851-Dec 31, 2015. Note: For current access, use Benner Library's subscription database Nexis Uni. (Full text) Service = ProQuest

 Newspaper Source Toggle Dropdown

Full text for 40+ US and international newspapers plus selective full text for 389 regional US newspapers. Full text of TV and radio news transcripts. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

Need Help? Connect to : Government Information Online (GIO) chat - A cooperative virtual reference and information service that specializes in answering questions about government information

Explanation of SuDoc classification system - "The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) was established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its Government's information. Since 1813, depository libraries have safeguarded the public's right to know by collecting, organizing, maintaining, preserving, and assisting users with information from the Federal Government. The FDLP provides Government information at no cost to designated depository libraries throughout the country and territories. These depository libraries, in turn, provide local, no-fee access to Government information in an impartial environment with professional assistance"(from, http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp ).

• Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library
• Description of library departments and contact information

Appointments (please make arrangements by telephone) are necessary for research in these collections:
Manuscripts: (217) 785-7942
Audiovisual: (217) 785-7955
Lincoln: (217) 785-7954

• Library catalog (part of Rolling Prairie Library System)
• Choose "Advanced Search"
• Limit location to "Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library"
• Note: do not limit to "Lincoln Library"
• The Reading Room at the Presidential Library contains the personal library of Steve Neal, a political columnist for the Sun Times. Link to his obituary posted at his alma mater. To read it, scroll down or use Ctrl-F to search for his name.