Welcome to the new library website. After watching our brief introductory video, please contact us if you have any questions or comments. Please be patient as we continue to make minor tweaks to our pages. If you have any questions, concerns, or praises please email the webmaster (link found in the footer on every page).
The library will be open from 10am until 3pm Monday through Thursdays August 13 when we will again re-open on Fridays from 10am until 3pm.
There are many types of printing available in the library. You can scan to email, copy, print, webprint, poster print, and 3D. Click on the blue printer icon on the side bar for more information.
Benner Library offers a variety of printing services that are readily available to ONU students and community patrons.
The library has 4 regular printers available to patrons, which are:
Yokohama - Located on the first floor, this printer only prints in black and white.
Des Moines - Located on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Montreal - Located in the fishbowl on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Seoul - Located on the second floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
New York - Located on the lower level, this printer prints in color and black and white.
In addition to being able to print from the library's computers, print jobs can also be sent via our web printing portal. Upon signing in, just follow the instructions on the page to submit a job that can be released from any of the printers listed above, or any printers that support GINGER* on campus (a list of valid printers will also be given in the portal).
Benner Library printers also have the option of scanning documents directly to a student email. For more information and instruction on scanning to email, ask a Benner Library employee.
The library is home to a 3D printer (Prusa i3 MK35). For more information on use of the 3D printer, please visit our 3D printing page.
Benner Library patrons also have access to a poster printer. For more information on use of the poster printer, please visit our poster printing page.
*GINGER refers to the printing queue common to many computers on campus. A print sent from one computer to "FollowMe-Student on GINGER" can be retrieved from any one of many locations on campus.
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Notice of name change: "By transforming its name from the acronym ATLA to the word Atla, the organization is both honoring what has been and preparing for what is to come." Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals (518 currently indexed), more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, and more than 511,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association. -- copied from publisher's site (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
The Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS) disseminates information about archaeology in Bible lands through its bi-monthly magazine, Biblical Archaeology Review and at www.biblicalarchaeology.org. (Full text) Service = Biblical Archaeology Society
The Christian Periodical Index indexes more than 130 English language periodicals over the period from 1976 to the present, containing over 200,000 records including both journal articles and reviews. The journals included cover a broad spectrum of knowledge, including the Christian aspects of science, literature, medicine, political science, music, philosophy, history, sociology, nursing, and education, representing a wide range of doctrinal positions within evangelical Christianity. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Focusing on the first five centuries of the Christian Church, Early Church Texts provides over 230 on-site texts in the original language with English translations as well as links to information on over 800 people and themes. Contains links to a variety of sources, including primary texts, original language, and scholarly articles. (Full text) Service = Early Church Texts
HeinOnline is a premier online research platform that provides more than 194 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more. It is composed of fully searchable image-based PDFs -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = HEINONLINE
An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. (Full text) Service = JSTOR
Contains digital resources from open archive collections, including digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and datasets. It represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1000 contributors worldwide and the records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click. (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = OCLC (305)
Produced by the Philosopher's Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher's Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology, a list a wide variety of periodical literature (including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions), and English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages. (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = Religious & Theological Abstracts
TREN is a library of over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 70 different institutions. It also makes available conference papers presented at annual meetings of several academic societies. For documents already purchased go to /subject-guides/religion/tren_documents/. (ONU authentication required.) (Full text) Service = Theological Research Exchange Network
WHDL provides global access to free multidisciplinary digital and Wesleyan-Holiness resources. WHDL was initiated by the global Church of the Nazarene in response to the worldwide need for access to resources for ministerial preparation, education, spiritual development, and lifelong learning. It is the desire of the planners and developers of this digital library that other institutions representing Wesleyan-Holiness traditions will join this effort and add their own educational materials and archival resources to enrich the collection. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = *Assign Supplier
The Bible Translator is the leading academic journal dedicated to the theory and practice of Bible translation. It has been published continuously since 1950, and exists firstly to serve those directly involved in Bible translation, aiming to encourage sharing of the results of their research and records of their practice. It exists also to provide a forum for a wider community of scholars and students interested in a range of disciplines which influence the translation of the Bible, and encourages engagement between scholars and translators. --taken from publisher site -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = SAGE Publications, Inc.
Biblical Theology Bulletin is a distinctive, peer-reviewed, quarterly journal containing articles and reviews written by experts in biblical and theological studies. The editors select articles that provide insights derived from critical biblical scholarship, culture-awareness, and thoughtful reflection on meanings of import for scholars of Bible and religion, religious educators, clergy, and those engaged with social studies in religion, inter-religious studies, and the praxis of biblical religion today. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = SAGE Publications, Inc.
Horizons in Biblical Theology publishes articles that address all aspects of the relationship between biblical studies and theology. This includes traditional historical readings of biblical texts, thematic studies within biblical texts and theology, explorations of methodology and hermeneutics, and even readings from within confessional traditions. The journal welcomes both technical articles that address historical and linguistic issues in biblical texts and theoretical articles that address innovations and difficulties in theological reading of texts. Contributions are peer-reviewed. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Brill
Interpretation has offers pastors, scholars, and theologians a valuable resource for study, preaching, and teaching. Each issue explores a theme or biblical book with writers who have relevant expertise. Four to five major articles, "Between Text and Sermon" essays, and book reviews offer a variety of options for adding to and enhancing our readers' knowledge. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = SAGE Publications, Inc.
The Journal for the Scientific Study of Religion (JSSR) is a multi-disciplinary journal that publishes articles, research notes, and book reviews on the social scientific study of religion. Published articles are representative of the best current theoretical and methodological treatments of religion. (Full text) Service = Wiley
Journal of Early Christian Studies focuses on the study of Christianity in the context of late ancient societies and religions from C.E. 100-700. The Journal publishes the best of traditional patristics scholarship while showcasing articles that call attention to newer methodologies and themes often absent from other patristic journals. Every issue features an extensive book review section. Journal of Early Christian Studies is the official publication of the North American Patristics Society (NAPS). -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Johns Hopkins University Press
The Journal of Religion promotes critical, hermeneutical, historical, and constructive inquiry into religion. The journal publishes articles in theology, religious ethics, and philosophy of religion, as well as articles that approach the role of religion in culture and society from a historical, sociological, psychological, linguistic, or artistic standpoint. It also publishes highly specialized research in limited areas of inquiry that has significance for a wider readership. (Full text) Service = JSTOR
The Journal of Religion promotes critical, hermeneutical, historical, and constructive inquiry into religion. The journal publishes articles in theology, religious ethics, and philosophy of religion, as well as articles that approach the role of religion in culture and society from a historical, sociological, psychological, linguistic, or artistic standpoint. It also publishes highly specialized research in limited areas of inquiry that has significance for a wider readership. (Full text) Service = University of Chicago Press
New Testament Studies is an international peer-reviewed periodical whose contributors include the leading New Testament scholars writing in the world today. The journal publishes original articles and short studies in English, French and German on a wide range of issues pertaining to the origins, history, context and theology of the New Testament and early Christianity. All contributions represent research at the cutting edge of the discipline, which has developed a wide range of methods. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Cambridge University Press
This new peer-reviewed journal provides original research into all aspects of the relationship between politics and religion around the world. The impact of religion on political attitudes, decision-making, and public policy development is analyzed, with topics ranging from abortion laws, sex education in schools, and stem cell research to transnational terrorism, morality, social justice, and human rights. Politics and Religion is multidisciplinary and international in scope, with contributions coming from all relevant areas, including political science, law, philosophy, sociology, history, area studies, and economics. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Cambridge University Press
Archives before 1997 have limited availability.Religious Studies is an international journal devoted to the problems of the philosophy of religion as they arise out of classical and contemporary discussions and from varied religious traditions. More than 25 articles are published each year, and the journal also contains an extensive book review section. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Cambridge University Press
Religious Studies Review is Rice University's quarterly review of publications across the whole field of religious studies and in related disciplines. RSR reviews over 1,000 titles annually in review essays and critical notes. (Full text) Service = Wiley
Scottish Journal of Theology is an international journal of systematic, historical and biblical theology. Since its foundation in 1948, it has become established as one of the world's leading theological journals. As well as publishing original research articles, most issues contain an article review consisting of an article-length review of a recent book, with a reply from the author. Scottish Journal of Theology provides an ecumenical forum for debate, and engages in extensive reviewing of theological and biblical literature. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Cambridge University Press
"an open digital archive of scholarly intellectual and research outputs of the University of South Africa. The UnisaIR contains and preserves theses and dissertations, research articles, conference papers, rare and special materials and many other digital assets." -- copied from publisher's site (Open Access) Service = UNISA
Theology is the ideal journal for all who want to broaden their knowledge of contemporary theological studies. It includes peer-reviewed contributions from scholars across the Christian tradition. Theology keeps readers abreast of the latest developments in all fields of enquiry impinging on contemporary Christian thought and practice. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = SAGE Publications, Inc.
The primary editorial goal of Theology and Science is to publish critically reviewed articles that promote the creative mutual interaction between the natural sciences and theology. While the journal assumes the integrity of each domain, its primary aim is to explore this interaction in terms of the implications of the natural sciences for constructive research in philosophical and systematic theology, the philosophical and theological elements within and underlying theoretical research in the natural sciences, and the relations and interactions between theological and scientific methodologies. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Taylor & Francis Online
Notice of name change: "By transforming its name from the acronym ATLA to the word Atla, the organization is both honoring what has been and preparing for what is to come." Series 1 presents more than 15,000 titles from 13th Century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. The historical time period of the collection reflects upon a time of great doctrinal, social, and organizational change. The collection includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek, Hebrew and other languages besides English, documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era and provides an in-depth view of the way that interest in, and knowledge of, biblical languages emerged during the nineteenth century, an important foundation for today's study and understanding of biblical languages. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Notice of name change: "By transforming its name from the acronym ATLA to the word Atla, the organization is both honoring what has been and preparing for what is to come." Series 2 consists of nearly 15,000 titles published from 1894 through 1923. It presents a comprehensive picture of religion in America at the turn of the century. Subjects addressed include the conflict between religion and science, the growing interest in Eastern religions and other world religions, and significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
The Online Edition of the Chicago Manual of Style includes recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices, tools, a quick guide, and Q&A section. (Full text) Service = University of Chicago Press
Search resources related to Religion in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials. (Full text) Service = Credo
This book offers updated explanations of the sins of interpretation to teach sound grammatical, lexical, cultural, theological, and historical Bible study practices. "A must for teachers, pastors, and serious Bible students." -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = ProQuest
A fully searchable, perpetually growing, and virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Including: Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture. Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Harvard University Press
Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists. Information is presented in two distinct sections, essays and directory listings describing the historical development of religious families and providing factual information about each group within those families. Includes, when available, rubrics for membership figures, educational facilities and periodicals. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning
Mounce's is ideal for the reader with limited or no knowledge of Greek or Hebrew who wants greater insight into the meanings of biblical words to enhance Bible study. It is also the perfect reference for busy pastors needing to quickly get at the heart of a word's meaning without wading through more technical studies. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = ProQuest
All available titles have unlimited access for CARLI members and may be used as course materials or for course reserves. Direct links may be embedded into course management systems. Titles may not be used for print course packs.
Minimal, insubstantial amounts of the publications may be used to fulfill interlibrary loan requests.
Resource provided by CARLI: ebooks with the publication dates of 2018-June 2021. The collection will grow monthly with newly published titles added through the end of our access period of June 30, 2022. (Full text) Service = Oxford University Press
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature is the first and only systematic article level index to the subject matter of 19th century periodicals. Originally published in six volumes between 1882 and 1908 -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Hathi Trust
All titles have unlimited access for CARLI members and may be used as course materials or for course reserves. Direct links may be embedded into course management systems. Titles may not be used for print course packs.
Minimal, insubstantial amounts of the publications may be used to fulfill interlibrary loan requests.
Resource provided by CARLI: all ebooks available from the listed Partner University Presses on the University Press Scholarship Online platform. The collection will grow quarterly with newly published titles added through the end of our access period of June 30, 2021. There are 6 publishers on the UPSO platform that are not available through this agreement. (Full text) Service = Oxford University Press
All titles have unlimited access for CARLI members and may be used as course materials or for course reserves. Direct links may be embedded into course management systems.
Titles purchased in perpetuity in July 2021 may be used to fulfill interlibrary loan requests; however, until that time, members may not use these titles to fulfill interlibrary loan requests.
All CARLI Governing Members have access to ebooks on the Wiley Online Library platform with the publication dates of 2017-June 2021. The collection will grow monthly with newly published titles added through the end of our access period of June 30, 2022. (Full text) Service = Wiley
A general introduction to the study of Christian cultural and intellectual life in the world of Islma from the time of the prophet Muhammad to the time of the Crusades and the Mongol conquest of the Middle East int he middle of the thirteenth century. -- copied from publisher's site (Course eBook) Service = American Council of Learned Societies
From publisher: "From Comrades to Bodhisattvas is the first book-length study of Han Chinese Buddhism in post-Mao China. Using an ethnographic approach supported by over a decade of field research, it provides an intimate portrait of lay Buddhist practitioners in Beijing who have recently embraced a religion that they were once socialized to see as harmful superstition. The book focuses on the lively discourses and debates that take place among these new practitioners." (Course eBook) Service = EBSCO Ebooks
Do women and men have different intellectual, spiritual, moral, or emotional capacities? Over the centuries, women have read and interpreted the story of Eve, scrutinizing the details of the text to discern God's word for them. Biblical scholar Amanda Benckhuysen traces the history of women's interpretation of Genesis 1-3, allowing the voices of women to speak of Eve's story and its implications for life today. -- copied from publisher's site (Course eBook) Service = EBSCO Ebooks
PAST-620 Dr. Emmanuel ReinboldIn Thinking, Listening, Being: A Wesleyan Pastoral Theology, Jeren Rowell offers theological reflections on what it means to live and work as a pastor. He examines different aspects of pastoral thinking, practice, and work, and challenges pastors to continually pursue prayer, the study of Scriptures, and theological reflection. -- copied from publisher's site (Course eBook) Service = EBSCO Ebooks