Jan-Feb 2022 – Due to illness and staffing issues, building availability will be different from 10:00pm – Midnight (on non-break days)
Sunday – Thursday, January 11 – February 25:
•2nd & 3rd Floors CLOSE at 10:00pm
•LOWER LEVEL open for QUIET STUDY 10 – 11:30pm
•MAIN FLOOR open until Midnight
Now Hiring: Circulation
The Circulation Department is now hiring! Underclassmen who intend to work for several years are most desirable.
Design new programs and modify existing programs to increase library efficiencies. Please indicate your interest in this specific position by choosing “Informatics” under Desired Departments and at least one option under Skills: Programming on the Benner Library Student Job Application. Shifts may include early mornings and/or late nights. Monitored training will be provided but is self-paced while performing as an Informatics lab assistant.
Benner Library offers a variety of printing services that are readily available to ONU students and community patrons.
The library has 4 regular printers available to patrons, which are:
Yokohama - Located on the first floor, this printer only prints in black and white.
Des Moines - Located on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Montreal - Located in the fishbowl on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Seoul - Located on the second floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
New York - Located on the lower level, this printer prints in color and black and white.
In addition to being able to print from the library's computers, print jobs can also be sent via our web printing portal. Upon signing in, just follow the instructions on the page to submit a job that can be released from any of the printers listed above, or any printers that support GINGER* on campus (a list of valid printers will also be given in the portal).
Benner Library printers also have the option of scanning documents directly to a student email. For more information and instruction on scanning to email, ask a Benner Library employee.
The library is home to a 3D printer (Prusa i3 MK35). For more information on use of the 3D printer, please visit our 3D printing page.
Benner Library patrons also have access to a poster printer. For more information on use of the poster printer, please visit our poster printing page.
*GINGER refers to the printing queue common to many computers on campus. A print sent from one computer to "FollowMe-Student on GINGER" can be retrieved from any one of many locations on campus.
Online database of downloadable maps for university and college libraries. Includes a diverse range of maps, including modern outline, political, thematic, topographic, scientific, and animated maps, as well as tens of thousands of antique maps of the world, individual countries, holy lands, U.S. states, and U.S. towns and cities, in several digital formats. (Full text) Service = World Trade Press
Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals (518 currently indexed), more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, and more than 511,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association. -- copied from publisher's site (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
The Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS) disseminates information about archaeology in Bible lands through its bi-monthly magazine, Biblical Archaeology Review and at www.biblicalarchaeology.org. (Full text) Service = Biblical Archaeology Society
The Christian Periodical Index indexes more than 130 English language periodicals over the period from 1976 to the present, containing over 200,000 records including both journal articles and reviews. The journals included cover a broad spectrum of knowledge, including the Christian aspects of science, literature, medicine, political science, music, philosophy, history, sociology, nursing, and education, representing a wide range of doctrinal positions within evangelical Christianity. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. (Full text) Service = JSTOR
Contains digital resources from open archive collections, including digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and datasets. It represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1000 contributors worldwide and the records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click. (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = OCLC (305)
Produced by the Philosopher's Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher's Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology, a list a wide variety of periodical literature (including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions), and English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages. (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = Religious & Theological Abstracts
TREN is a library of over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 70 different institutions. It also makes available conference papers presented at annual meetings of several academic societies. For documents already purchased go to /subject-guides/religion/tren_documents/. (ONU authentication required.) (Full text) Service = Theological Research Exchange Network
Horizons in Biblical Theology publishes articles that address all aspects of the relationship between biblical studies and theology. This includes traditional historical readings of biblical texts, thematic studies within biblical texts and theology, explorations of methodology and hermeneutics, and even readings from within confessional traditions. The journal welcomes both technical articles that address historical and linguistic issues in biblical texts and theoretical articles that address innovations and difficulties in theological reading of texts. Contributions are peer-reviewed. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Brill
Journal of Early Christian Studies focuses on the study of Christianity in the context of late ancient societies and religions from C.E. 100-700. The Journal publishes the best of traditional patristics scholarship while showcasing articles that call attention to newer methodologies and themes often absent from other patristic journals. Every issue features an extensive book review section. Journal of Early Christian Studies is the official publication of the North American Patristics Society (NAPS). -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Johns Hopkins University Press
Notice of name change: "By transforming its name from the acronym ATLA to the word Atla, the organization is both honoring what has been and preparing for what is to come." Series 1 presents more than 15,000 titles from 13th Century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. The historical time period of the collection reflects upon a time of great doctrinal, social, and organizational change. The collection includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek, Hebrew and other languages besides English, documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era and provides an in-depth view of the way that interest in, and knowledge of, biblical languages emerged during the nineteenth century, an important foundation for today's study and understanding of biblical languages. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Notice of name change: "By transforming its name from the acronym ATLA to the word Atla, the organization is both honoring what has been and preparing for what is to come." Series 2 consists of nearly 15,000 titles published from 1894 through 1923. It presents a comprehensive picture of religion in America at the turn of the century. Subjects addressed include the conflict between religion and science, the growing interest in Eastern religions and other world religions, and significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Search resources related to Religion in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials. (Full text) Service = Credo
Provides exhaustive and organized encyclopedic overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning
All available titles have unlimited access for CARLI members and may be used as course materials or for course reserves. Direct links may be embedded into course management systems. Titles may not be used for print course packs.
Minimal, insubstantial amounts of the publications may be used to fulfill interlibrary loan requests.
Resource provided by CARLI: ebooks with the publication dates of 2018-June 2021. The collection will grow monthly with newly published titles added through the end of our access period of June 30, 2022. (Full text) Service = Oxford University Press
All titles have unlimited access for CARLI members and may be used as course materials or for course reserves. Direct links may be embedded into course management systems. Titles may not be used for print course packs.
Minimal, insubstantial amounts of the publications may be used to fulfill interlibrary loan requests.
Resource provided by CARLI: all ebooks available from the listed Partner University Presses on the University Press Scholarship Online platform. The collection will grow quarterly with newly published titles added through the end of our access period of June 30, 2021. There are 6 publishers on the UPSO platform that are not available through this agreement. (Full text) Service = Oxford University Press
All titles have unlimited access for CARLI members and may be used as course materials or for course reserves. Direct links may be embedded into course management systems.
Titles purchased in perpetuity in July 2021 may be used to fulfill interlibrary loan requests; however, until that time, members may not use these titles to fulfill interlibrary loan requests.
All CARLI Governing Members have access to ebooks on the Wiley Online Library platform with the publication dates of 2017-June 2021. The collection will grow monthly with newly published titles added through the end of our access period of June 30, 2022. (Full text) Service = Wiley