If you are trying to use the Benner Library search engine at the top of our webpage in Google Chrome and it is loading a blank page that says "about_blank" you need to allow pop-ups. Click on the "Pop-up blocked" words and icon to the far right of the address bar and select: "Always allow pop-ups and redirects from [site] > Done.
If you need further assistance, follow these directions if you need assistance. https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/95472?hl=en&co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop#zippy=%2Callow-pop-ups-and-redirects-from-a-site
Contact us from the Ask-A-Librarian page if you need assistance.
Fishbowl open 24/7
The FISHBOWL is open 24/7. When the Library is closed, use your ID to access the library lobby (where you can return books) and then the FISHBOWL. If you have problems getting the door to open, swipe your card, push the door in and pull the handle out quickly.
Who's @ the desk?
See who is covering the information desk at the library during open hours.
There are two buttons makers available in the library: 1.5 inch and 2.25 inches. Supplies to make the buttons, keychains, or magnets can be purchased at the Lower Level Service Desk in the library. For more information visit our website.
The poster printer is for patrons to print posters that are larger than 11 x 17. The standard paper width is 24 inches but 36 inch rolls (bond & heavy weight paper only) are available upon request. Use our price calculator to figure out the cost of your poster. Reserve a Time in our Bookings program to get your posters printed.
Benner Library offers a variety of printing services that are readily available to ONU students and community patrons.
The library has 4 regular printers available to patrons, which are:
Yokohama - Located on the first floor, this printer only prints in black and white.
Des Moines - Located on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Montreal - Located in the fishbowl on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Seoul - Located on the second floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
New York - Located on the lower level, this printer prints in color and black and white.
In addition to being able to print from the library's computers, print jobs can also be sent via our web printing portal. Upon signing in, just follow the instructions on the page to submit a job that can be released from any of the printers listed above, or any printers that support GINGER* on campus (a list of valid printers will also be given in the portal).
Scan to Email
Benner Library printers have the option of scanning documents directly to a student email. For more information and instruction on scanning to email, ask a Benner Library employee.
The library is home to a 3D printer (Prusa i3 MK35). For more information on use of the 3D printer, please visit our 3D printing page.
Benner Library patrons also have access to a poster printer. For more information on use of the poster printer, please visit our poster printing page.
*GINGER refers to the printing queue common to many computers on campus. A print sent from one computer to "FollowMe-Student on GINGER" can be retrieved from any one of many locations on campus.
Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals (518 currently indexed), more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, and more than 511,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association. -- copied from publisher's site (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
The Christian Periodical Index indexes more than 130 English language periodicals over the period from 1976 to the present, containing over 200,000 records including both journal articles and reviews. The journals included cover a broad spectrum of knowledge, including the Christian aspects of science, literature, medicine, political science, music, philosophy, history, sociology, nursing, and education, representing a wide range of doctrinal positions within evangelical Christianity. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. (Full text) Service = JSTOR
Children's Minstry Magzine provides practical, authentic ministry ideas for your ministry to children. It includes sound advice and encouragement from today's children's ministry experts, plus hundreds of activities and teaching ideas for your kids. (Full text) Service = Children's Ministry
The 99-year-old journal International Review of Mission, sponsored by the World Council of Churches, focuses on the ecumenical practice of mission while giving voice to other theological perspectives, such as those of Pentecostal and Evangelical missiologists. Articles on important mission events are presented along with book reviews and a detailed bibliography of current literature from the Centre for the Study of Christianity in the Non-Western World (Edinburgh). (Full text) Service = Wiley
Interpretation has offers pastors, scholars, and theologians a valuable resource for study, preaching, and teaching. Each issue explores a theme or biblical book with writers who have relevant expertise. Four to five major articles, "Between Text and Sermon" essays, and book reviews offer a variety of options for adding to and enhancing our readers' knowledge. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = SAGE Publications, Inc.
This new peer-reviewed journal provides original research into all aspects of the relationship between politics and religion around the world. The impact of religion on political attitudes, decision-making, and public policy development is analyzed, with topics ranging from abortion laws, sex education in schools, and stem cell research to transnational terrorism, morality, social justice, and human rights. Politics and Religion is multidisciplinary and international in scope, with contributions coming from all relevant areas, including political science, law, philosophy, sociology, history, area studies, and economics. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Cambridge University Press
Search resources related to Religion in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials. (Full text) Service = Credo
When Helping Hurts is a paradigm-forming contemporary classic on the subject of poverty alleviation. This stand-alone resource applies the principles of that book specifically to short term missions. Helping Without Hurting: Short Term MissionsLeader's Guide is aimed at the preparation and debriefing of short-term missionaries. -- copied from publisher's site (Course eBook) Service = EBSCO Ebooks
Become a more effective cross-cultural minister by opening your eyes to global realities and Western assumptions about short-term missions. -- copied from publisher's site (Course eBook) Service = EBSCO Ebooks
No one said pursuing justice would be easy. The road can be so challenging and the destination so distant that you may be discouraged by a lack of progress, compassion or commitment in your quest for justice. How do you stay committed to the journey when God's kingdom can seem so slow in coming? Kent Annan understands the struggle of working for justice over the long haul. -- copied from publisher's site (Course eBook) Service = EBSCO Ebooks