If you are trying to use the Benner Library search engine at the top of our webpage in Google Chrome and it is loading a blank page that says "about_blank" you need to allow pop-ups. Click on the "Pop-up blocked" words and icon to the far right of the address bar and select: "Always allow pop-ups and redirects from [site] > Done.
If you need further assistance, follow these directions if you need assistance. https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/95472?hl=en&co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop#zippy=%2Callow-pop-ups-and-redirects-from-a-site
Contact us from the Ask-A-Librarian page if you need assistance.
Fishbowl open 24/7
The FISHBOWL is open 24/7. When the Library is closed, use your ID to access the library lobby (where you can return books) and then the FISHBOWL. If you have problems getting the door to open, swipe your card, push the door in and pull the handle out quickly.
Who's @ the desk?
See who is covering the information desk at the library during open hours.
There are two buttons makers available in the library: 1.5 inch and 2.25 inches. Supplies to make the buttons, keychains, or magnets can be purchased at the Lower Level Service Desk in the library. For more information visit our website.
The poster printer is for patrons to print posters that are larger than 11 x 17. The standard paper width is 24 inches but 36 inch rolls (bond & heavy weight paper only) are available upon request. Use our price calculator to figure out the cost of your poster. Reserve a Time in our Bookings program to get your posters printed.
Benner Library offers a variety of printing services that are readily available to ONU students and community patrons.
The library has 4 regular printers available to patrons, which are:
Yokohama - Located on the first floor, this printer only prints in black and white.
Des Moines - Located on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Montreal - Located in the fishbowl on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Seoul - Located on the second floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
New York - Located on the lower level, this printer prints in color and black and white.
In addition to being able to print from the library's computers, print jobs can also be sent via our web printing portal. Upon signing in, just follow the instructions on the page to submit a job that can be released from any of the printers listed above, or any printers that support GINGER* on campus (a list of valid printers will also be given in the portal).
Scan to Email
Benner Library printers have the option of scanning documents directly to a student email. For more information and instruction on scanning to email, ask a Benner Library employee.
The library is home to a 3D printer (Prusa i3 MK35). For more information on use of the 3D printer, please visit our 3D printing page.
Benner Library patrons also have access to a poster printer. For more information on use of the poster printer, please visit our poster printing page.
*GINGER refers to the printing queue common to many computers on campus. A print sent from one computer to "FollowMe-Student on GINGER" can be retrieved from any one of many locations on campus.
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Communication Source is the most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research. Communication Source was developed from a merger of high-quality EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline. -- copied from publisher's site (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Provides documentaries with relevance across the curriculum race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. (Multimedia) Service = Alexander Street Press, LLC
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
A monthly publication that provides nonprofit professionals profiles of various types of nonprofit special events, detailing valuable how to information for step-by-step success in their own event-planning strategy. (Full text) Service = Wiley
A writing style guide for journalists that is published and updated annually to reflect changes in writing style and new guidelines. It provides fundamental guidelines for spelling, language, punctuation, usage and journalistic style. (Full text) Service = Associated Press
Covers literary adaptations in four main categories: classic literature; contemporary bestsellers and popular fiction; nonfiction, encompassing biography, true crime, history, and memoirs; and childrenâ€™s and young adult literature. Sidebars will highlight people, such as authors, film directors, screenwriters, actors, producers, who are particularly identified with adaptation or a particular work. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning
Explores the full spectrum of communication, from careers to information technologies, in an interdisciplinary fashion. Emphasis is on both historical and current issues, topics, and people. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning
ProCon "provides the pros and cons of controversial issues shaping our society. Entries are supported with background information that delves into the issue, with pro and con arguments, verified facts and additional reading." -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Credo
All titles have unlimited access for CARLI members and may be used as course materials or for course reserves. Direct links may be embedded into course management systems.
Titles purchased in perpetuity in July 2021 may be used to fulfill interlibrary loan requests; however, until that time, members may not use these titles to fulfill interlibrary loan requests.
All CARLI Governing Members have access to ebooks on the Wiley Online Library platform with the publication dates of 2017-June 2021. The collection will grow monthly with newly published titles added through the end of our access period of June 30, 2022. This has been extended to June 30, 2023. (Full text) Service = Wiley
Ask A LibrarianSubjects: more help, engineering, engineering short, accounting short, art and digital media short, biblical literature, biblical literature short, biography, biography short, biology, biology short, business, business short, chemistry, chemistry short, child development, child development short, christian education, christian education short, christian ministry, christian ministry short, communication, communication short, computer science, computer science short, controversial topics, controversial topics short, criminal justice, criminal justice short, dietetics, dietetics short, ecology and environmental science, ecology and environmental science short, education, education short, english, english short, exercise and sports science, exercise and sports science short, facs, facs short, french, french short, history, history short, health, health short, law, law short, leadership, leadership short, library science, library science short, mathematics, mathematics short, military science, literature, literature short, military science short, music, music short, news: current, news: current short, news: historical, news: historical short, nursing, nursing shorts, philosophy, philosophy short, physical science, physical science short, physics, physics short, psychology, psychology short, reference, reference short, social work, social work short, sociology, sociology short, spanish, spanish short, special education, special education short, statistics, theater, theater short, theology, theology short, travel, travel short, political science, political science short, statistics short, sped 601, Images and Multimedia Short, Images and MultimediaTags: Communication & Mass Media Complete Help GuideSubjects: ebsco, communication, communication shortTags: find, search, database, journalsUsing MasterFILE Premier EffectivelySubjects: speech, informative speech, communication, communication short, persuasive speechTags: how to, videos, speech, resourcesUsing the database StatistaSubjects: statista, databases, communication, communication short, dietetics, dietetics short, exercise and sports science, exercise and sports science short, facs, facs short, leadership, leadership short, military science, military science short, political science, political science shortTags: