BUS 601: Professional Communication

Article Links:

Thompson, L. (2023, Aug 04). 4 steps leaders must take to make the most of AI and not get left behind, according to an MBA professor. Business Insider

Get Help

Ask a Librarian: Get help accessing and searching databases

Hours
815-939-5355
ONULibrary(@)olivet(.)edu

Request articles when we don’t have the full text

815-928-5439
ILL(@)Olivet(.)edu

APA 7

Choose a database

Start at the Business & Marketing or the Communication Library Subject guide.

Business and Marketing databases such as Proquest One Business & (EBCSO’s) Business Source Ultimate contain trade publications (written for practitioners in the business world) in addition to company information and scholar articles
Use Statista to find in-depth industry research reports plus and single images (infographics or figures)
Communication Source contains scholarly articles for communication and mass media fields. Articles may rely upon theory and share data collected.

Tutorials

Business Source- Advanced Searching on EBSCOhost
Using the database Statista

Search Suggestions Artificial Intelligence

Database	Subject Words
Communication Source	Artificial intelligence Artificial intelligence—social aspects Artificial intelligence in business ChatGPT Mass media policy Technological innovations Data mining Computer algorithms Language models Image recognition (computer vision) Cognition
Business Source Ultimate	Artificial intelligence Artificial neural networks Algorithms Artificial intelligence in business
Proquest One Business	Artificial intelligence Machine learning Websites Customer Services Product development

Difficult Conversations

Database	Subject Words
Communication Source	Keyword: “difficult conversations” doesn’t provide many satisfactory results. Instead search for the specific kind of conversation you want to review, e.g. relationship satisfaction, gender identity, marital conflict, workplace conversations, end of life, etc. Also consider: Conversations Interpersonal relations Supportive communication Communication in management Communication strategies Communication patterns Workplace management Privilege (social sciences) Social justice Race relations Cross-cultural communication
Business Source Ultimate	Keyword: “difficult conversations” (some highly relevant results when you limit format to “trade publications”) Also consider: Conversation Conflict management Dispute resolution Honesty Listening Language & emotions Psychological feedback Conversation analysis Fact-to-face communication Interpersonal communication Interpersonal relations Bad news Institutional racism
Proquest One Business	Keyword: "difficult conversations" (this keyword WORKS WELL). Narrow results to trade. Also consider: Also try: Employees Leadership Employers Customers Verbal communication Corporate culture Collaboration Communication Decision making Productivity Women Politics

Database

Subject Words

Communication Source

Keyword: “difficult conversations” doesn’t provide many satisfactory results. Instead search for the specific kind of conversation you want to review, e.g. relationship satisfaction, gender identity, marital conflict, workplace conversations, end of life, etc.

Also consider:

Conversations
Interpersonal relations
Supportive communication
Communication in management
Communication strategies
Communication patterns
Workplace management
Privilege (social sciences)
Social justice
Race relations
Cross-cultural communication

Business Source Ultimate

Keyword: “difficult conversations” (some highly relevant results when you limit format to “trade publications”)

Also consider:

Conversation
Conflict management
Dispute resolution
Honesty
Listening
Language & emotions
Psychological feedback
Conversation analysis
Fact-to-face communication
Interpersonal communication
Interpersonal relations
Bad news
Institutional racism

Proquest One Business

Keyword: "difficult conversations" (this keyword WORKS WELL). Narrow results to trade.

Also consider:
Also try:

Employees
Leadership
Employers
Customers
Verbal communication
Corporate culture
Collaboration
Communication
Decision making
Productivity
Women
Politics

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Database	Subject Words
Communication Source	Keyword: DEI (don’t use; most results were in Spanish) Also consider: Diversity & Inclusion policies Employment discrimination Discrimination (sociology) Employee selection Cultural competence Communication Cross-cultural communication Language policy Decision making Empathy Engagement (philosophy) Social change Social norms Gender inequality LGBTQ+ people Communities
Business Source Ultimate	Keyword: diversity in organizations (okay starting place; also try subject words below) Also consider: Diversity in the workplace Equality in the workplace Affirmative action programs Corporate culture Work environment Personnel management Talent management Leadership Organizational behavior Women employees Women executives Human resources departments Employee recruitment Employee selection Employee retention Employment discrimination
Proquest One Business	Keyword: DEI (this keyword WORKS WELL in this database). Also consider: Asset management Leadership Employes Executives Board of director Multiculturalism & pluralism Diversity equity & inclusion Workplace diversity Employment Careers Education Teams Trends

Database

Subject Words

Communication Source

Keyword: DEI (don’t use; most results were in Spanish)

Also consider:

Diversity & Inclusion policies
Employment discrimination
Discrimination (sociology)
Employee selection
Cultural competence
Communication
Cross-cultural communication
Language policy
Decision making
Empathy
Engagement (philosophy)
Social change
Social norms
Gender inequality
LGBTQ+ people
Communities

Business Source Ultimate

Keyword: diversity in organizations (okay starting place; also try subject words below)

Also consider:

Diversity in the workplace
Equality in the workplace
Affirmative action programs
Corporate culture
Work environment
Personnel management
Talent management
Leadership
Organizational behavior
Women employees
Women executives
Human resources departments
Employee recruitment
Employee selection
Employee retention
Employment discrimination

Proquest One Business

Keyword: DEI (this keyword WORKS WELL in this database).

Also consider:

Asset management
Leadership
Employes
Executives
Board of director
Multiculturalism & pluralism
Diversity equity & inclusion
Workplace diversity
Employment
Careers
Education
Teams
Trends

Hybrid communication

Database	Subject Words
Communication Source	Keyword phrase: “hybrid work” Also consider: Telecommuting Telecommunication Flexible work arrangements Social media Digital technology Digital communications Information sharing Confidence Personnel management Communication & technology Mobile communication systems Internet users
Business Source Ultimate	Keyword: “hybrid work” or “remote working” or “work from home” or “home office” LOTS of results in “trade publications” (14,000) Also consider: Flexible work arrangements Telecommuting Virtual offices Home offices Employees Employee benefits Offices Work environment Remote computing Internet Flextime Work-life balance Job satisfaction Email Virtual private networks Teams in the workplace
Proquest One Business	Keyword: “hybrid work” (this keyword phrase WORKS WELL; Limit to trade publications). Also consider: Hybrid work Flexibility Employees Teams Cooperation Collaboration Telecommunications Cloud computing Software Cost control Infrastructure Communication networks Equity Competition

Database

Subject Words

Communication Source

Keyword phrase: “hybrid work”

Also consider:

Telecommuting
Telecommunication
Flexible work arrangements
Social media
Digital technology
Digital communications
Information sharing
Confidence
Personnel management
Communication & technology
Mobile communication systems
Internet users

Business Source Ultimate

Keyword: “hybrid work” or “remote working” or “work from home” or “home office” LOTS of results in “trade publications” (14,000)

Also consider:

Flexible work arrangements
Telecommuting
Virtual offices
Home offices
Employees
Employee benefits
Offices
Work environment
Remote computing
Internet
Flextime
Work-life balance
Job satisfaction
Email
Virtual private networks
Teams in the workplace

Proquest One Business

Keyword: “hybrid work” (this keyword phrase WORKS WELL; Limit to trade publications).

Also consider:

Hybrid work
Flexibility
Employees
Teams
Cooperation
Collaboration
Telecommunications
Cloud computing
Software
Cost control
Infrastructure
Communication networks
Equity
Competition