Historical Origins of the sport
Strategy: Read books & encyclopedias for background
- Browse the Reference and third-floor circulating collections by Dewey Decimal Number (biographies 927, sports 796)
- Do a Keyword search in
Library Catalog for your sport
Use an eReference collection like
- AND encyclopedia
- narrow the results by “topic”
SAGE Knowledge eReference
How has the sport evolved?
Academic Search Complete
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature. (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Biography & News Sources
Library Instruction Session
This web page was reviewed on 06/16/2020. This web page was created by Jasmine Cieszynski, Instructional Services. The content of the page was updated on 08/21/2020.