If you are trying to use the Benner Library search engine at the top of our webpage in Google Chrome and it is loading a blank page that says "about_blank" you need to allow pop-ups. Click on the "Pop-up blocked" words and icon to the far right of the address bar and select: "Always allow pop-ups and redirects from [site] > Done.
If you need further assistance, follow these directions if you need assistance. https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/95472?hl=en&co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop#zippy=%2Callow-pop-ups-and-redirects-from-a-site
Contact us from the Ask-A-Librarian page if you need assistance.
Fishbowl open 24/7
The FISHBOWL is open 24/7. When the Library is closed, use your ID to access the library lobby (where you can return books) and then the FISHBOWL. If you have problems getting the door to open, swipe your card, push the door in and pull the handle out quickly.
Who's @ the desk?
See who is covering the information desk at the library during open hours.
There are two buttons makers available in the library: 1.5 inch and 2.25 inches. Supplies to make the buttons, keychains, or magnets can be purchased at the Lower Level Service Desk in the library. For more information visit our website.
The poster printer is for patrons to print posters that are larger than 11 x 17. The standard paper width is 24 inches but 36 inch rolls (bond & heavy weight paper only) are available upon request. Use our price calculator to figure out the cost of your poster. Reserve a Time in our Bookings program to get your posters printed.
Benner Library offers a variety of printing services that are readily available to ONU students and community patrons.
The library has 4 regular printers available to patrons, which are:
Yokohama - Located on the first floor, this printer only prints in black and white.
Des Moines - Located on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Montreal - Located in the fishbowl on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Seoul - Located on the second floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
New York - Located on the lower level, this printer prints in color and black and white.
In addition to being able to print from the library's computers, print jobs can also be sent via our web printing portal. Upon signing in, just follow the instructions on the page to submit a job that can be released from any of the printers listed above, or any printers that support GINGER* on campus (a list of valid printers will also be given in the portal).
Scan to Email
Benner Library printers have the option of scanning documents directly to a student email. For more information and instruction on scanning to email, ask a Benner Library employee.
The library is home to a 3D printer (Prusa i3 MK35). For more information on use of the 3D printer, please visit our 3D printing page.
Benner Library patrons also have access to a poster printer. For more information on use of the poster printer, please visit our poster printing page.
*GINGER refers to the printing queue common to many computers on campus. A print sent from one computer to "FollowMe-Student on GINGER" can be retrieved from any one of many locations on campus.
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Nexis Uni provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. Newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. (Full text) Service = LexisNexis
Full text-only database that contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Credo Reference is a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials. (Full text) Service = Credo
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning
A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning
Includes the complete content of three printed reference series of historical reference: Milestone Documents - A new, primary source series, The Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American history series, and Great Lives from History - The definitive, worldwide biographical resource. (Full text) Service = Salem Press