Jan-Feb 2022 – Due to illness and staffing issues, building availability will be different from 10:00pm – Midnight (on non-break days)
Sunday – Thursday, January 11 – February 25:
•2nd & 3rd Floors CLOSE at 10:00pm
•LOWER LEVEL open for QUIET STUDY 10 – 11:30pm
•MAIN FLOOR open until Midnight
Now Hiring: Circulation
The Circulation Department is now hiring! Underclassmen who intend to work for several years are most desirable.
Design new programs and modify existing programs to increase library efficiencies. Please indicate your interest in this specific position by choosing “Informatics” under Desired Departments and at least one option under Skills: Programming on the Benner Library Student Job Application. Shifts may include early mornings and/or late nights. Monitored training will be provided but is self-paced while performing as an Informatics lab assistant.
Benner Library offers a variety of printing services that are readily available to ONU students and community patrons.
The library has 4 regular printers available to patrons, which are:
Yokohama - Located on the first floor, this printer only prints in black and white.
Des Moines - Located on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Montreal - Located in the fishbowl on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Seoul - Located on the second floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
New York - Located on the lower level, this printer prints in color and black and white.
In addition to being able to print from the library's computers, print jobs can also be sent via our web printing portal. Upon signing in, just follow the instructions on the page to submit a job that can be released from any of the printers listed above, or any printers that support GINGER* on campus (a list of valid printers will also be given in the portal).
Benner Library printers also have the option of scanning documents directly to a student email. For more information and instruction on scanning to email, ask a Benner Library employee.
The library is home to a 3D printer (Prusa i3 MK35). For more information on use of the 3D printer, please visit our 3D printing page.
Benner Library patrons also have access to a poster printer. For more information on use of the poster printer, please visit our poster printing page.
*GINGER refers to the printing queue common to many computers on campus. A print sent from one computer to "FollowMe-Student on GINGER" can be retrieved from any one of many locations on campus.
Online database of downloadable maps for university and college libraries. Includes a diverse range of maps, including modern outline, political, thematic, topographic, scientific, and animated maps, as well as tens of thousands of antique maps of the world, individual countries, holy lands, U.S. states, and U.S. towns and cities, in several digital formats. (Full text) Service = World Trade Press
Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains images, brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Coverage on 175 countries in easy-to-use format includes traditions, habits, and social norms of people, as well as information on governments, culture, and health care. (Full text) Service = World Trade Press
According to The Times, the Oxford English Dictionary is "the ultimate authority on the English language as well as a history of English speech and thought from its infancy to the present day." It is a unique source of scholarly information on the meaning, history and pronunciation of words both past and present. The OED provides authoritative definitions of over 500,000 words, traces the usage of words from their first recorded occurrence to the modern period through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international language sources, offers etymological analysis and detailed listings of variant spellings, and uses the International Phonetic Alphabet to show pronunciation. (Full text) Service = Oxford University Press
Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music, and religion from a specific period, each volume in this five-volume set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume. Nine chapters follow, covering the major branches of the humanities: architecture and design, dance, fashion, literature, music, philosophy, religion, theater, and visual arts. Chapters begin with a chronology of major events within the discipline followed by articles covering the movements, schools of thought, and masterworks that characterize the discipline during the era and biographical profiles of pioneers, masters, and other prominent figures in the field. Chapters end with significant bibliography of primary documents from the period. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning
Credo Reference is a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials. (Full text) Service = Credo
Gale Virtual Reference Library offers you an online collection of premier reference eBooks. You can search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection - a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning
Salem Health includes Salem Press five volume Magill's Medical Guide. an authoritative reference source that bridges the gap between medical encyclopedias and popular self-help guides. It is an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research, general readers, patients and caregivers. The Guide covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. Includes illustrations and sidebars, indexes, appendixes, and cross-references. (Full text) Service = Salem Press
Includes the complete content of three printed reference series of historical reference: Milestone Documents - A new, primary source series, The Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American history series, and Great Lives from History - The definitive, worldwide biographical resource. (Full text) Service = Salem Press