Primary Sources: Humanities

Full or excerpted primary sources from the period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements, and events from the decade. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning

This volume covers the first decade of the twenty-first century from monumental events and groundbreaking individuals to the details of Americans' daily lives. Topics include world events, the arts, business and the economy, education, fashion, government and politics, law and justice, lifestyles and social trends, media, medicine and health, religion, science and technology, and sports. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning

Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies. (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = OCLC (305)

CARLI Digital Collections was established in 2006 as a repository for digital content created by member libraries of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI) or purchased by the consortium for use by its members. CARLI Digital Collections uses the CONTENTdm digital asset management tool to describe and deliver digital representations of myriad special collections including printed and manuscript materials, images, and sound recordings. It also guarantees researchers access to cross-institution and cross-collection searches integrating previously disparate and possibly remote special collections. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)

The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. (Full text) Service = *Assign Supplier

Contact Interlibrary Loan or stop at the reference desk for assistance in retrieving the full text for desired documents.

The Center for Research Libraries is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. CRL supports advanced research and teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available to scholars critical primary source material. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Center for Research Libraries

48,000+ Historic Sermons that are indexed by primary Biblical Text (Some full text) Service = Classic Sermon Index, LLC

Focusing on the first five centuries of the Christian Church, Early Church Texts provides over 230 on-site texts in the original language with English translations as well as links to information on over 800 people and themes. Contains links to a variety of sources, including primary texts, original language, and scholarly articles. (Full text) Service = Early Church Texts

This database includes:
Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes)
Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue
Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere
Primarily in English - also includes other languages -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning

The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library. The John Carter Brown Library, founded in 1846, is a foremost repository of rare books and materials and is a center for advanced research in history and the humanities. (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

Revised five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship up through the year 2000. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. Users can graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest. (Full text) Service = Cambridge University Press

A fully searchable, perpetually growing, and virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Including: Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture. Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Harvard University Press

We're sorry, as of May 21, 2017, CARLI is no longer able to provide off-campus authentication to the images in the Saskia Art Images and Sanborn Maps of Illinois (1867-1970) digital collections.

Access to these materials is available on-campus at CARLI Governing member institutions, or through their campus VPN or other IP proxy services offered by those institutions or libraries.

Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. They list street blocks and building numbers - numbers in use at the time the map was made as well as previous historical numbers. (Multimedia) Service = Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)

MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = *Assign Supplier

Contains digital resources from open archive collections, including digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and datasets. It represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1000 contributors worldwide and the records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click. (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = OCLC (305)

Digitized materials from Olivet Nazarene University. (Full text) Service = JSTOR