If you are trying to use the Benner Library search engine at the top of our webpage in Google Chrome and it is loading a blank page that says "about_blank" you need to allow pop-ups. Click on the "Pop-up blocked" words and icon to the far right of the address bar and select: "Always allow pop-ups and redirects from [site] > Done.
If you need further assistance, follow these directions if you need assistance. https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/95472?hl=en&co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop#zippy=%2Callow-pop-ups-and-redirects-from-a-site
Contact us from the Ask-A-Librarian page if you need assistance.
Fishbowl open 24/7
The FISHBOWL is open 24/7. When the Library is closed, use your ID to access the library lobby (where you can return books) and then the FISHBOWL. If you have problems getting the door to open, swipe your card, push the door in and pull the handle out quickly.
Who's @ the desk?
See who is covering the information desk at the library during open hours.
There are two buttons makers available in the library: 1.5 inch and 2.25 inches. Supplies to make the buttons, keychains, or magnets can be purchased at the Lower Level Service Desk in the library. For more information visit our website.
The poster printer is for patrons to print posters that are larger than 11 x 17. The standard paper width is 24 inches but 36 inch rolls (bond & heavy weight paper only) are available upon request. Use our price calculator to figure out the cost of your poster. Reserve a Time in our Bookings program to get your posters printed.
Benner Library offers a variety of printing services that are readily available to ONU students and community patrons.
The library has 4 regular printers available to patrons, which are:
Yokohama - Located on the first floor, this printer only prints in black and white.
Des Moines - Located on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Montreal - Located in the fishbowl on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Seoul - Located on the second floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
New York - Located on the lower level, this printer prints in color and black and white.
In addition to being able to print from the library's computers, print jobs can also be sent via our web printing portal. Upon signing in, just follow the instructions on the page to submit a job that can be released from any of the printers listed above, or any printers that support GINGER* on campus (a list of valid printers will also be given in the portal).
Scan to Email
Benner Library printers have the option of scanning documents directly to a student email. For more information and instruction on scanning to email, ask a Benner Library employee.
The library is home to a 3D printer (Prusa i3 MK35). For more information on use of the 3D printer, please visit our 3D printing page.
Benner Library patrons also have access to a poster printer. For more information on use of the poster printer, please visit our poster printing page.
*GINGER refers to the printing queue common to many computers on campus. A print sent from one computer to "FollowMe-Student on GINGER" can be retrieved from any one of many locations on campus.
CARLI Digital Collections was established in 2006 as a repository for digital content created by member libraries of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI) or purchased by the consortium for use by its members. CARLI Digital Collections uses the CONTENTdm digital asset management tool to describe and deliver digital representations of myriad special collections including printed and manuscript materials, images, and sound recordings. It also guarantees researchers access to cross-institution and cross-collection searches integrating previously disparate and possibly remote special collections. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)
The collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections: the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches Museum, the Uffizi, and the Louvre as well as archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey and Egypt. The images can be displayed and downloaded in high-resolution format. Descriptive data about the images includes references to the occurrences of these images in 19 major art history texts. (Multimedia) Service = Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)
Bates' Visual Guide includes Bates' Physical Examination Videos and OSCE (Objective Structured Clinical Examinations) Clinical Skills Videos. These videos deliver head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for assessment and clinical medicine. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. (Multimedia) Service = Wolters Kluwer
1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video approximately 1,500 performances in all. The collection contains performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world. (Multimedia) Service = Alexander Street Press, LLC
A collection of documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals serving on the front lines of justice and public safety. (Multimedia) Service = Alexander Street Press, LLC
Provides documentaries with relevance across the curriculum race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. (Multimedia) Service = Alexander Street Press, LLC
A collection of art history videos. Each short documentary showcases an artist and a key piece, illuminating the context and history of the work. Illustrated and compellingly presented (narration accompanies each film), these films provide insight into master works of painting. (Multimedia) Service = Credo
Video collection in the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more. Developed through an exclusive partnership with Healthy Learning, the world's leading producer of sports medicine videos, the collection features an array of internationally renowned physicians, exercise scientists, certified athletic trainers, physical therapists, registered dieticians, sport psychologists, personal trainers, and health/wellness experts who share information, ideas, and insights on the principles, techniques, and modalities of modern exercise science and sports medicine. (Multimedia) Service = Alexander Street Press, LLC
Online database of downloadable maps for university and college libraries. Includes a diverse range of maps, including modern outline, political, thematic, topographic, scientific, and animated maps, as well as tens of thousands of antique maps of the world, individual countries, holy lands, U.S. states, and U.S. towns and cities, in several digital formats. (Full text) Service = World Trade Press
An easy to use web interface that allows anyone to quickly find any 7.5 minute topo in the continental U.S.A. for downloading and printing. Each topo has been pre-processed to print on a standard home, letter size printer. These are the same topos that were printed by USGS on giant bus-sized presses but are now available in multi-page PDFs that can be printed just about anywhere. -- copied from publisher's site (Multimedia) Service = National Geographic Maps