Jan-Feb 2022 – Due to illness and staffing issues, building availability will be different from 10:00pm – Midnight (on non-break days)
Sunday – Thursday, January 11 – February 25:
•2nd & 3rd Floors CLOSE at 10:00pm
•LOWER LEVEL open for QUIET STUDY 10 – 11:30pm
•MAIN FLOOR open until Midnight
Now Hiring: Circulation
The Circulation Department is now hiring! Underclassmen who intend to work for several years are most desirable.
Design new programs and modify existing programs to increase library efficiencies. Please indicate your interest in this specific position by choosing “Informatics” under Desired Departments and at least one option under Skills: Programming on the Benner Library Student Job Application. Shifts may include early mornings and/or late nights. Monitored training will be provided but is self-paced while performing as an Informatics lab assistant.
Benner Library offers a variety of printing services that are readily available to ONU students and community patrons.
The library has 4 regular printers available to patrons, which are:
Yokohama - Located on the first floor, this printer only prints in black and white.
Des Moines - Located on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Montreal - Located in the fishbowl on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Seoul - Located on the second floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
New York - Located on the lower level, this printer prints in color and black and white.
In addition to being able to print from the library's computers, print jobs can also be sent via our web printing portal. Upon signing in, just follow the instructions on the page to submit a job that can be released from any of the printers listed above, or any printers that support GINGER* on campus (a list of valid printers will also be given in the portal).
Benner Library printers also have the option of scanning documents directly to a student email. For more information and instruction on scanning to email, ask a Benner Library employee.
The library is home to a 3D printer (Prusa i3 MK35). For more information on use of the 3D printer, please visit our 3D printing page.
Benner Library patrons also have access to a poster printer. For more information on use of the poster printer, please visit our poster printing page.
*GINGER refers to the printing queue common to many computers on campus. A print sent from one computer to "FollowMe-Student on GINGER" can be retrieved from any one of many locations on campus.
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually. (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Sociology Source Ultimate provides the must-have materials for students studying aspects of human behavior and interaction. Coverage of topics ranges from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. (Some full text) Service = Wiley
Affilia Journal of Women and Social Work brings insight and knowledge to the field of social work from a feminist perspective and provides the research and tools necessary to make significant changes and improvements in the delivery of social services. (Full text) Service = SAGE Publications, Inc.
The Family Journal advances the theory, research and practice of counseling with couples and families from a family systems perspective. Edited by Stephen Southern, the journal provides groundbreaking, innovative scholarship for counseling researchers, educators and practitioners. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = SAGE Publications, Inc.
For 20 years, human services professionals have relied on Health & Social Work for the latest advances in areas such as aging, clinical work, long-term care, oncology, substance abuse, depression, and maternal health. Articles also cover research, policy, specialized services, quality assurance, in-service training, and other topics that affect the delivery of health care services. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Oxford Academic
International Social Work is a scholarly peer reviewed journal designed to extend knowledge and promote communication in the fields of social development, social welfare and human services. Its major focus is on international themes in the delivery of services.This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = SAGE Publications, Inc.
The Journal of Ethnic & Cultural Diversity in Social Work is dedicated to the examinaÂtion of multicultural social issues as they relate to social work policy, research, theory, and practice. The journal helps readers develop knowledge and promote understanding of the impact of culture, ethnicity, and class on the individual, group, organization, and community on the delivery of human services. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Taylor & Francis Online
In the Journal of Religion & Spirituality in Social Work: Social Thought , scholars, researchers, and practitioners examine issues of social justice and religion as they relate to the development of policy and delivery of social services. In addition to timely literature reviews, the journal presents up-to-date, in-depth, expert information on: sectarian and nonsectarian approaches to spirituality and ethics; justice and peace; philosophically oriented aspects of religion in the social services; conceptual frameworks; the philosophy of social work; and a great deal more. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Taylor & Francis Online
The Leadership Quarterly is a social-science journal dedicated to advancing our understanding of leadership as a phenomenon, how to study it, as well as its practical implications. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Elsevier
Research on Social Work Practice (RSWP), peer-reviewed and published eight times per year, is a disciplinary journal devoted to the publication of empirical research concerning the assessment methods and outcomes of social work practice. Intervention programs covered include behavior analysis and therapy; psychotherapy or counseling with individuals; case management; and education. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = SAGE Publications, Inc.
Social Work is the premier journal of the social work profession. Widely read by practitioners, faculty, and students, it is the official journal of NASW and is provided to all members as a membership benefit. Social Work is dedicated to improving practice and advancing knowledge in social work and social welfare. Its articles yield new insights into established practices, evaluate new techniques and research, examine current social problems, and bring serious critical analysis to bear on problems in the profession. Major emphasis is placed on social policy and the solutions to serious human problems. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Oxford Academic
Social Work Research publishes exemplary research to advance the development of knowledge and inform social work practice. Widely regarded as the outstanding journal in the field, it includes analytic reviews of research, theoretical articles pertaining to social work research, evaluation studies, and diverse research studies that contribute to knowledge about social work issues and problems. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Oxford Academic
Search resources related to Social Sciences in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials. (Full text) Service = Credo
Basic information about the history of social welfare in Canada, Mexico, and the United States to provide readers with information about how these three nations have dealt with social welfare issues, some similar across borders, others unique, as well as to describe important events, developments, and the lives and work of some key contributors to social welfare developments. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning
The 20th edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster.The Encyclopedia contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work. Arranged in A-Z format, each article is fully cross-referenced and includes a select bibliography to guide interested readers to primary sources. The work also includes a comprehensive index and topical outline. (Full text) Service = Oxford University Press
All available titles have unlimited access for CARLI members and may be used as course materials or for course reserves. Direct links may be embedded into course management systems. Titles may not be used for print course packs.
Minimal, insubstantial amounts of the publications may be used to fulfill interlibrary loan requests.
Resource provided by CARLI: ebooks with the publication dates of 2018-June 2021. The collection will grow monthly with newly published titles added through the end of our access period of June 30, 2022. (Full text) Service = Oxford University Press
All titles have unlimited access for CARLI members and may be used as course materials or for course reserves. Direct links may be embedded into course management systems. Titles may not be used for print course packs.
Minimal, insubstantial amounts of the publications may be used to fulfill interlibrary loan requests.
Resource provided by CARLI: all ebooks available from the listed Partner University Presses on the University Press Scholarship Online platform. The collection will grow quarterly with newly published titles added through the end of our access period of June 30, 2021. There are 6 publishers on the UPSO platform that are not available through this agreement. (Full text) Service = Oxford University Press