CARLI Digital Collections was established in 2006 as a repository for digital content created by member libraries of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI) or purchased by the consortium for use by its members. CARLI Digital Collections uses the CONTENTdm digital asset management tool to describe and deliver digital representations of myriad special collections including printed and manuscript materials, images, and sound recordings. It also guarantees researchers access to cross-institution and cross-collection searches integrating previously disparate and possibly remote special collections. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text)
Service = Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)
The collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections: the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches Museum, the Uffizi, and the Louvre as well as archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey and Egypt. The images can be displayed and downloaded in high-resolution format. Descriptive data about the images includes references to the occurrences of these images in 19 major art history texts. (Multimedia)
Service = Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)
Bates' Visual Guide includes Bates' Physical Examination Videos and OSCE (Objective Structured Clinical Examinations) Clinical Skills Videos. These videos deliver head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for assessment and clinical medicine. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. (Multimedia)
Service = Wolters Kluwer
1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video approximately 1,500 performances in all. The collection contains performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world. (Multimedia)
Service = Alexander Street Press, LLC
A collection of art history videos. Each short documentary showcases an artist and a key piece, illuminating the context and history of the work. Illustrated and compellingly presented (narration accompanies each film), these films provide insight into master works of painting. (Multimedia)
Service = Credo
21 plays recorded live on the Globe stage from leading actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam's Olivier Award-winning Falstaff in Henry IV. -- copied from publisher's site (Multimedia)
Service = Bloomsbury Publishing
Online database of downloadable maps for university and college libraries. Includes a diverse range of maps, including modern outline, political, thematic, topographic, scientific, and animated maps, as well as tens of thousands of antique maps of the world, individual countries, holy lands, U.S. states, and U.S. towns and cities, in several digital formats. (Full text)
Service = World Trade Press
We're sorry, as of May 21, 2017, CARLI is no longer able to provide off-campus authentication to the images in the Saskia Art Images and Sanborn Maps of Illinois (1867-1970) digital collections.
Access to these materials is available on-campus at CARLI Governing member institutions, or through their campus VPN or other IP proxy services offered by those institutions or libraries.
Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. They list street blocks and building numbers - numbers in use at the time the map was made as well as previous historical numbers. (Multimedia)
Service = Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI)
An easy to use web interface that allows anyone to quickly find any 7.5 minute topo in the continental U.S.A. for downloading and printing. Each topo has been pre-processed to print on a standard home, letter size printer. These are the same topos that were printed by USGS on giant bus-sized presses but are now available in multi-page PDFs that can be printed just about anywhere. -- copied from publisher's site (Multimedia)
Service = National Geographic Maps
Images & Multimedia