NUR 456: Leadership & Trends in Nursing

Week 1 discussion: Nursing Jobs for New Grads

To find career information, consider two free tools from the U.S. Department of Labor: Occupational Outlook Handbook and O*NET Online

Occupational Outlook Handbook,
This site lists pay, educational requirements, and job prospect projections.

O*NET Online,
This site describes the daily work, tools used, and other specific details. Consult this when developing your resume and education plan, to ensure that you include keywords employers are looking for, and that are prepared to enter the profession.

Week 2 discussion: Nursing in Media

Visit the News: Current or News: Historical subject guides at Benner Library. Use the databases linked here to find full text news articles regarding nurses and nursing:

O*NET Online,
This site describes the daily work, tools used, and other specific details. Consult this when developing your resume and education plan, to ensure that you include keywords employers are looking for, and that are prepared to enter the profession.

Week 2 discussion: Changing Image of Nursing
  1. Consider visiting the Zwerdling Nursing Archive (ZNA) Postcard Gallery for vintage images
  2. The library database Academic Search Complete is a good resource for this discussion post (but NOT for posts which required scholarly nursing studies).

    Why use this database instead of CINAHL? Because you can find articles written for nursing practitioners as well as information for the general public in a single database. Academic Search Complete contains…

Publication Types Step-by-step guide to using Academic Search complete to find Trade Publications.

Ethical health issues that impact nursing

In order to find scholarly, nursing articles, search in the database CINAHL Complete. Use two search boxes to identify

  1. ethical issues (use the * symbol to get variations on the word: issue, issues)
  2. an area of interest

Ethical issues Need help? Review the CINAHL Basics video for more search tips, This video tutorial is 3-minutes long.

Role as Change Agent

Search the CINAHL database using Subject Headings. There are two ways to discover them:

  1. One method starts with a simple keyword search
  2. The second method is demonstrated in this and uses the CINAHL Headings tool within the database.
Need Help? Reach out!

Email SGCS Librarians

Ask-A-Librarian

This web page was created by Jasmine Cieszynski , Instructional Services, on 6/13/2019.