LIT 470: Shakespeare

In class handouts:
Suggested reference sources at Benner

Finding books in online catalogs
Library Catalog

Benner Library's Online Catalog. (Some full text) Service = Ex Libris

Illinois Catalog (I-Share)

Academic libraries in Illinois. Request books using the barcode number on your student ID. (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = Ex Libris

Do a Subject search for “Shakespeare AND_____” Or, after doing a keyword search, narrow your results using the “topics” on the right side of the screen (see images on in-class handout)

How to use the Shakespearean Criticism

Finding reference citations
Literary Index - This free database is “a master index to author and title listings from over 130 literature products from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers [including Shakespearean Criticism]…. The referenced products themselves [are typically print books found in library reference collections and] will contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.” Of all of the Gale books in this free online index, Benner only owns these titles:
Exploring Poetry: 821.08 R727e (3rd floor)
Shakespearean Criticism: 822.33 DC679s (3rd floor)
Author Search
Title Search
Finding Scholarly Articles
Academic Search Complete

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

LitBase

Full text access to poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction, classics, teacher guides, and student guides from all over the world. (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

Literary Reference Plus

Literary Reference Plus is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Source Plus contains everything in Literary Reference Source, plus the following: over 1,200 additional full-text literary reference books/works, over 200 additional full-text literary journals and magazines, 35 volumes of new contemporary literature titles from Salem Press, 40 full-text literary study guides and 72 literary videos. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

JSTOR Collection

An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. (Full text) Service = JSTOR

Journal Search

Use this tool to search for journals available through Benner Library both in print and electronic forms. () Service = Ex Libris

Shakespeare's Globe

21 plays recorded live on the Globe stage from leading actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam's Olivier Award-winning Falstaff in Henry IV. -- copied from publisher's site (Multimedia) Service = Bloomsbury Publishing

Helpful Links
How to Analyze a Shakespearean Sonnet
Complete list of Shakespeare’s plays:
Shakespeare's Work (Open Source Shakespeare at George Mason University) | Folger Shakespeare Library
Suggestions for Writing About Shakespeare
MIT Global Shakespeare: video & performance archive
Learn Shakespeare's Globe (shakespearesglobe.com)