If you are trying to use the Benner Library search engine at the top of our webpage in Google Chrome and it is loading a blank page that says "about_blank" you need to allow pop-ups. Click on the "Pop-up blocked" words and icon to the far right of the address bar and select: "Always allow pop-ups and redirects from [site] > Done.
If you need further assistance, follow these directions if you need assistance. https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/95472?hl=en&co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop#zippy=%2Callow-pop-ups-and-redirects-from-a-site
Contact us from the Ask-A-Librarian page if you need assistance.
Now Hiring Student Assistants
Do you have a strong work ethic, good organizational skills and enjoy the library environment? There are multiple job openings in several departments of Benner Library for the Fall semester 2022.
To apply, click on the Student Job Application link in the footer of any library web page.
Fishbowl open 24/7
The FISHBOWL is open 24/7. When the Library is closed, use your ID to access the library lobby (where you can return books) and then the FISHBOWL. If you have problems getting the door to open, swipe your card, push the door in and pull the handle out quickly.
Who's @ the desk?
See who is covering the information desk at the library during open hours.
There are two buttons makers available in the library: 1.5 inch and 2.25 inches. Supplies to make the buttons, keychains, or magnets can be purchased at the Lower Level Service Desk in the library. For more information visit our website.
The poster printer is for patrons to print posters that are larger than 11 x 17. The standard paper width is 24 inches but 36 inch rolls (bond & heavy weight paper only) are available upon request. Use our price calculator to figure out the cost of your poster. Reserve a Time in our Bookings program to get your posters printed.
Benner Library offers a variety of printing services that are readily available to ONU students and community patrons.
The library has 4 regular printers available to patrons, which are:
Yokohama - Located on the first floor, this printer only prints in black and white.
Des Moines - Located on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Montreal - Located in the fishbowl on the first floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
Seoul - Located on the second floor, this printer prints in color and black and white.
New York - Located on the lower level, this printer prints in color and black and white.
In addition to being able to print from the library's computers, print jobs can also be sent via our web printing portal. Upon signing in, just follow the instructions on the page to submit a job that can be released from any of the printers listed above, or any printers that support GINGER* on campus (a list of valid printers will also be given in the portal).
Scan to Email
Benner Library printers have the option of scanning documents directly to a student email. For more information and instruction on scanning to email, ask a Benner Library employee.
The library is home to a 3D printer (Prusa i3 MK35). For more information on use of the 3D printer, please visit our 3D printing page.
Benner Library patrons also have access to a poster printer. For more information on use of the poster printer, please visit our poster printing page.
*GINGER refers to the printing queue common to many computers on campus. A print sent from one computer to "FollowMe-Student on GINGER" can be retrieved from any one of many locations on campus.
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Birds of the World (BOW) content is written by ornithologists all over the world and was amassed from four major celebrated works of ornithology: Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Cornell Lab of Ornithology
GeoRef, produced by the American Geological Institute, is a comprehensive geosciences database containing over 2.8 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations. -- copied from publisher's site (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
GeoRef In Process, contains unedited records that are still in the process of being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database. Some of the records originate from older, non-English language literature while other, more current records are simply not yet complete. When the GeoRef indexers complete the editing and indexing of an In Process record, then the record will appear in the main GeoRef file. Because they are unedited, In Process records may lack a few fields or contain minimal data in some fields. This database is intended as a supplement to the main GeoRef database. -- copied from publisher's site (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Integrates four bibliographies: ?the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. It covers topics on the role of scientific discovery in society and culture, as well as the historiography of scientific disciplines from prehistory to the present. It includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials. -- description taken from EBSCO. -- copied from publisher's site (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)
Includes two journal collections: Health & Life Sciences College Edition and Physical Sciences College Edition. Both collections contain peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content. Some of the articles support interactive elements such as audio, video, graphs, tables and images. Some content on ScienceDirect also features embedded links to external datasets, including earth and environmental science data from PANGAEA, abstract and indexing data from Scopus and chemical reactions data from Reaxys. Also included are pre-publication articles and open access content from Elsevier journals and their society partners. (Some full text) Service = Elsevier
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. (Some full text) Service = Wiley
The Annual Review of Environment and Resources, in publication since 1976, provides authoritative reviews of significant topics within environmental science and engineering, including ecology and conservation science, water and energy resources, atmosphere, oceans, climate change, agriculture and living resources, and human dimensions of resource use and global change. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Annual Reviews
Ecology publishes articles that report on the basic elements of ecological research. Emphasis is placed on concise, clear articles documenting important ecological phenomena. The journal publishes a broad array of research that includes a rapidly expanding envelope of subject matter, techniques, approaches, and concepts: paleoecology through present-day phenomena; evolutionary, population, physiological, community, and ecosystem ecology, as well as biogeochemistry; inclusive of descriptive, comparative, experimental, mathematical, statistical, and interdisciplinary approaches. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Wiley
Environment: Science and Policy for Sustainable Development analyzes the problems, places, and people where environment and development come together, illuminating concerns from the local to the global. More readable than specialized journals and more timely than textbooks, Environment offers peer-reviewed articles and commentaries from researchers and practitioners who provide a broad range of international perspectives. This ISI-rated magazine also features in-depth reviews of major policy reports, conferences, and environmental education initiatives, as well as guides to the best Web sites, journal articles, and books. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Taylor & Francis Online
This journal consists of peer-reviewed, synthetic review articles on all aspects of ecology, the environment, and related disciplines, as well as short, high-impact research communications of broad interdisciplinary appeal. Additional features include breaking news (domestic and international), multi-author debates, editorials, special columns, and a letters section. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Wiley
This book provides a pivotal reference source for the latest scholarly material on the relationship between global climate changes and the planetâ€™s water ecosystems, highlighting relevant environmental, social, and economic issues. -- copied from publisher's site (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning
Credo Reference is a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials. (Full text) Service = Credo
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage. (Full text) Service = Cengage Learning
Online book collection which includes online access to more than 25,000 titles comprised of 13 subject collections:Architecture and Design, Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material Sciences, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences & Law, Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Physics & Astronomy, Professional & Applied ComputingThe books are searchable and can be accessed in pdf and html data formats. Reproductions can be purchased by students at a reasonable price. The collection is developed to support the scientific and academic researcher. (Full text) Service = Springer
All titles have unlimited access for CARLI members and may be used as course materials or for course reserves. Direct links may be embedded into course management systems.
Titles purchased in perpetuity in July 2021 may be used to fulfill interlibrary loan requests; however, until that time, members may not use these titles to fulfill interlibrary loan requests.
All CARLI Governing Members have access to ebooks on the Wiley Online Library platform with the publication dates of 2017-June 2021. The collection will grow monthly with newly published titles added through the end of our access period of June 30, 2022. This has been extended to June 30, 2023. (Full text) Service = Wiley