Art 375: History of Non-Western Art

South & Southeast Asia

• The Body Ritual of the Nacirema (scholarly article)
• Mughal art
  • Mughal Miniatures Article, The Guardian.
  • Royal Collection Trust The Mughals website
• PBS Films:
  • The Buddha 2010 (request through Interlibrary Loan)
  • The Story of India 2008 (request through Interlibrary Loan)

China & Korea

• PBS Film
• Secrets of the Dead: China’s Terracotta Warriors, Video (on Course Reserve at Benner Library’s circulation Desk—1st floor)
• Websites
• The Palace Museum Website
• The Demonization of Empress Wu, Smithsonian Article

Japan

• Podcast
• Japan House at U of I:

Islam

• Seven Wonders of Islam (PBS video on Course Reserve at Benner Library’s circulation Desk—1st floor)
• Websites
• Rick Steve’s Iran Yesterday & Today
• Mecca redevelopment...

Native Arts of the Americas

• The mystery of Chaco Canyon (video on Course Reserve at Benner Library’s circulation Desk—1st floor)
• Ghosts of Machu Picchu in Ancient marvels, (video on Course Reserve at Benner Library’s circulation Desk—1st floor)

Resources for the Arts Research Assignment:

• JSTOR Collection Toggle Dropdown

  An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. (Full text) Service = JSTOR

• Google Arts & Culture: Explore any museum’s collection
• Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art & Architecture (search alphabetically) in Saskia Art Images
• The MET: Scroll down to look at the “Collection Categories”
• Field Museum Collections
• Field Museum
• Google Arts & Culture