PSCI 447: American Constitutional Law

Databases | Constitutional Law Websites | Benner Library’s Constitutional Law Collection | Other Resources & Notes

 Nexis Uni Toggle Dropdown

Nexis Uni provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. Newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. (Full text) Service = LexisNexis

• Yale University Library: guide to beginning your research
• http://confinder.richmond.edu: This resource provides access to various constitutions, amendments, and related documentation with global applications
• Library of Congress’ Website
• Official website for the United States Supreme Court: numerous sources

• http://www.findlaw.com/casecode/constitution/ - Gives full text of the United States Constitution including Articles and Amendments
• Cornell Law School: Gives summaries of the major American Constitutional law cases (including Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Bakke (1978); Roe v. Wade (1973); New York Times Co. v. United States (1971); Miranda v. Arizona (1966); Griswold v. Connecticut (1965), New York Times Co. v. Sullivan (1964); Gideon v. Wainwright (1963); Mapp v. Ohio (1961), Brown v. Board of Education (1954); Shelley v. Kraemer (1948) and more…)

• University of Virginia Law library
• Human and Constitutional Rights Cases. Connected with Columbia Law School,
• Supreme Court of the United States Blog
• OYEZ.org: Multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States

A March of Liberty: A Constitutional History of the United States.
Melvin I Urofsky. Alfred A. Knopf, Inc. 1988. Call number 342.029 Ur6m
• Overview of court philosophy (i.e. Commentary on Marshall Court)
• Historical background information helpful in understanding cases and reactions to the decisions

Landmark Decisions of the United States Supreme Court.
Maureen Harrison and Steve Gilbert. Excellent Books, 1991.
Call number 347.7326 L229h

The Supreme Court From Taft to Burger, 3rd Edition.
Alpheus Thomas Mason. Louisiana State University Press, 1979.
Call number 347.7326 M381s 1979
• Reviews Taft and Warren Courts

The Supreme Court Review, 2001.
Dennis J. Hutchinson, David A. Strauss, Geoffrey R. Stone. University of Chicago Press, 2002.
Call number: 347.7326 Su76 2001

Black’s Law Dictionary, 7th Edition.
Bryan A. Garner.
Call number R 340.03 B5616, 1999

The Constitution and its Amendments.
Roger K. Newman. Macmillian Reference USA, New York. 1999.
Call number R 342.73 C766n

Historic U.S. Court Cases, An Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition.
John W. Johnson. Routledge, New York. 2001.
Call number R 349.73 H629j 2001 v. 1, 2

Need further help? Call the Northern Illinois University Shapiro Law Library Reference Desk, (815) 753-0519, they can usually offer further help.

The content of the page was updated by Jasmine Cieszynski, Instructional Services, on 11/09/2007.