Selected Sites

All Law-Legal information
This website gives information concerning all aspects of law such as finding a lawyer, researching a legal topic, and finding journals that relate to a particular topic.

American Journalism Review (archive)
AJR (archive only). Magazine and online site ceased publication in August 2015. "Archive contains news, news sources, helpful research and writing tools, and even AJR archives. Good for investigative reports, hard news articles, or even just basic writing tips."

Childstats.gov - Home
This website provides statistics and reports on families, children, health issues, economic issues, and many other issues that plague the American family.

College Newspapers
College newspapers by state.

Fairness & Accuracy In Reporting (FAIR)
"FAIR, the national media watch group, has been offering well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship since 1986. We work to invigorate the First Amendment by advocating for greater diversity in the press and by scrutinizing media practices that marginalize public interest, minority and dissenting viewpoints. As an anti-censorship organization, we expose neglected news stories and defend working journalists when they are muzzled. As a progressive group, FAIR believes that structural reform is ultimately needed to break up the dominant media conglomerates, establish independent public broadcasting and promote strong non-profit sources of information."

Families USA: The Voice for Health Care Consumers
This site breaks down difficult medical information for the consumer, on all issues such as insurance, physicians and prescriptions that consumers invest time and money into.

GuideStar nonprofit information
"...world's largest source of information on nonprofit organizations."

Home - ClinicalTrials.gov
Links for patients to medical research.

Illinois General Assembly Home Page
This is the official website of the Illinois General Assembly containing information about state Senate and House members, legislation, and additional resources. Good for an article regarding political/legislative matters or for basic General Assembly information (i.e. members of the House and Senate).

Illinois Lobbyist Registration
This site is provided by the State of Illinois and contains resources to register as a lobbyist, find information on lobbying in Illinois, and a list of every lobbyist in Illinois including the company he or she works for or represents and a phone number where he or she can be contacted.

JournalismJobs.com -- The Job Board for Media Professionals
A way to access job categories and view journalism articles.

National Press Photographers Association
"education initiatives seek to equip our members and prepare the emerging generation of visual journalists in the face of an ever-changing media landscape."

Politics and Journalism Semester
The Center was created for the specific purpose of running "The Politics & Journalism Semester" to teach future political reporters about politics from the perspective of political practitioners and political journalists.

SEJ | Society of Environmental Journalists
This site covers a wide variety of information on environmental issues, providing tip sheets and links. This site would be useful for a story on water, waste, or other environmental issues.

Society of Professional Journalists
"SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry through the daily work of its nearly 10,000 members; works to inspire and educate current and future journalists through professional development; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press through its advocacy efforts."

Southern Poverty Law Center
This website is an example of one area's goal of reducing poverty. Students covering nationwide poverty statistics would find help from this site.

State of Illinois Home Page
Contains state information relating to government, finance, news and much more. Anyone writing a story about state issues or government would find it helpful.

Stats about all US cities - real estate, relocation info, house
This site includes information about every town and city in the U.S. It includes median household income, median house value, crime rates, population, and nearby cities. This site is helpful in any story that needs city statistics.

STRYVE - Striving To Reduce Youth Violence Everywhere (data links)
Links to data regarding Youth Violence Prevention

The National Bureau of Economic Research
From the about page: "The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research in a scientific manner, and without policy recommendations, among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community."

U.S. Census Bureau
The leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

Who Owns What | Columbia Journalism Review
"Guide to what the major media companies own."

Submit a question or suggest a link.