Selected Video Sites

AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials - Duke Libraries
Collection of vintage TV commercials from 1950-1980s collected by Duke University.

American Experience (WGBH | PBS)
Complete episodes of select films from PBS documentary series.

American Indian Film Gallery
The American Indian Film Gallery (AIFG) is an online collection of more than 450 historic films by and about Native peoples of the Americas, compiled and digitized by historian J. Fred MacDonald over many years. These films range in date from 1925-2010. Most date to the so-called Golden Age of educational filmmaking, from 1945 to the rise of consumer-grade video equipment in the 1970s. Many of the films from that period were sponsored by industry or governmental agencies. Others were made by independent educational filmmakers. --description from AIFG

American Memory Collection (Motion Picture and Television Reading Room, Library of Congress)
Several hundred early motion pictures.

American Rhetoric: The Power of Oratory in the United States
A collection of over 5,000 speeches including "Top 100 Speeches" and Christian Rhetoric" - be sure to check out their copyright information if you are using it for anything other than research at http://www.americanrhetoric.com/copyrightinformation.htm

Archive of American Television
Over 800 oral history interviews (over 4000 hours) with the legends of television. These interviews chronicle the birth and growth of American TV History as it evolves. --description modified from Archive of American Television

ARKive - Discover the world's most endangered species
Video footage and photos of the world’s endangered animals, plants and fungi -- description modified from Arkive website.

Audio/Video Lectures | MIT OpenCourseWare | Free Online Course Materials
Open Courseware provided by MIT

British Pathe
Archive of history of over 80,000 videos of filmed history - mostly British.

Civil Rights Digital Library
Primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale about the Civil Rights era --description modified from Civil Rights Digital Library

Collections Search Center, Smithsonian Institution
Smithsonian Institution collection including multimedia selections

EVIA Digital Archive Project Media: Browse
The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a joint effort of Indiana University and the University of Michigan to establish a digital archive of ethnographic video for use by scholars and instructors. Media in the EVIA Project consists of video collections that have been selected for inclusion by an editorial committee, and annotations have gone through a scholarly review process. The content of the Archive represents the culmination of preservation, annotation, and editorial work. The Archive is designed to be a long-term preservation repository for unedited ethnographic video recordings as well as a unique kind of peer-reviewed scholarly publication. In each collection, scholars have worked extensively with their own recordings to describe and analyze what they have documented. The growth of the content is ongoing, with collections in various stages of completion. To learn more about collections that are part of the EVIA Digital Archive Project, visit the Collections area. --Description taken from EVIA Digital Archive webpage

HippoCampus - Homework and Study Help
This free site has multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors, and their students, free of charge. --Description taken from HippoCampus.org

Home | ScienceCinema
Video files produced by the DOE National Laboratories, other DOE research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN).

Hulu
Watch your favorites. Anytime. For free.

LearnersTV Free Education Online
This site provides free video and audio lectures of whole courses conducted by faculty from reputed universities around the world. Science Animations provide students with fun and innovative ways of learning. Free live timed online tests with instant feedback and explanations will help you refine your test taking skills. Most of the materials offered are licensed by the respective institutes under a Creative Commons License. --Description taken from LearnersTV.com

MOVIECLIPS: Movie Trailers, Previews, Clips of Old, New & Upcoming Films
Movie mashups - site has over 12,000 movie clips

National Committee for Fluid Mechanics Films
Films made by MIT's iFluids program.

National Park Service: B-Roll Video Archive
NPS's B-Roll Video. Find a Video by Subject. This archive is "designed to provide free, public domain, downloadable video images for multimedia use."

NOVA Videos
Documentary series from NOVA televisions series.

Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive - Miller Center
University of Virginia's Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive multimedia collection has a unique collection of material on U.S. public policy. The Library's multimedia archive includes more than 2,500 hours of secret White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings of Miller Center Forums, and documents related to the executive branch of American government. --Description modified from millercenter.org

Stanford Health Video Library - Stanford Health Library - Stanford Medicine
Doctors present health research in videos - from the Standford Health Video Library

The Great Depression Interviews
The Great Depression Interviews provided by Washington University in St. Louis.

TV NEWS
This site repurposes closed captioning to enable users to search, quote and borrow U.S. TV news programs. --Description modified from TV News Archive

USDA - YouTube
USDA You Tube Channel

USDAFoodSafety - YouTube
USDA Food Safety You Tube channel

USHMM Collections Search Search Results
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum oral history interviews.

Video : Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies
University of Minnesota Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies video collection.

Videos Archive - SAGES
SAGES TV - Home of SAGES Surgical Videos.

Watch POV Films | POV | PBS
video files produced by the DOE National Laboratories, other DOE research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). --Description taken from pbs.org/pov/about/

Submit a question or suggest a link.