PHED 242: Foundations of Health Education

PHED 242: Foundations of Health Education

Prepare for library instruction

• Read this article
• Rate it with this worksheet

Structure of a research article

• Abstract
• Introduction
• Methodology
• Results
• Discussion

Links point to lessons from the "Reading primary literature in biology," tutorial hosted at Kenyon College

Source types-defined

• Primary sources: Published research in peer-reviewed (refereed) journals or eyewitness accounts.
• Secondary Sources contain a summary of primary sources, including review articles.
• Tertiary sources are typically reference sources, including encyclopedias and handbooks.
• Popular sources: Written for a lay-audience, rarely contain detailed citation information

Recommended Databases:

Primary Sources

Secondary & Tertiary sources

 Library Catalog Toggle Dropdown

Benner Library's Online Catalog. (Some full text) Service = Ex Libris

 Illinois Catalog (I-Share) Toggle Dropdown

Academic libraries in Illinois. Request books using the barcode number on your student ID. (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = Ex Libris

 World Catalog (WorldCat) Toggle Dropdown

OCLC catalog of books and other materials that libraries own worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records, including records representing 400 languages. (No full text: Citation/abstract only) Service = OCLC (305)

To browse for books at Benner Library, visit the third floor:

• 372 - Elementary education - Health
• 610 - Medical Sciences - Education
• 611 - Human Anatomy
• 612 - Human Physiology
• 613 - Promotion of Health
• 615 - Incidence & Prevention of Disease
• 615 - Pharmacology
• 616 - Diseases

Ebook collections:

 Ebook Central (Proquest) Toggle Dropdown

Fulltext access to 30,000+ books, reports and maps from leading academic publishers. ebrary eBooks (Full text) Service = Proquest (Ebook Central)

Popular press

 Academic Search Complete Toggle Dropdown

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. (Some full text) Service = EBSCOadmin (databases)

 Ebook Central (Proquest) Toggle Dropdown

Fulltext access to 30,000+ books, reports and maps from leading academic publishers. ebrary eBooks (Full text) Service = Proquest (Ebook Central)

Confirmed/checked May 26, 2022 by Prof. Freeman

This web page was created by Jasmine Cieszynski, Instructional Services, on 12/06/2006. The content of the page was updated on 08/02/2018.