Topic Exploration

1st use these multi-subject collections to explore topic ideas:

  Credo Reference
Service = Credo Reference formerly Xrefer

Credo Reference is a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference

  Gale Virtual Reference Library
Service = Thomson Gale

Gale Virtual Reference Library offers you an online collection of premier reference eBooks. You can search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection - a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library

  Sage eReference Encyclopedias
Service = Sage

Search available SAGE eReference Encyclopedias.
Sage eReference Encyclopedias

2nd narrow down your topic by reading background articles:

  Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier

  Issues and Controversies
Service = Facts on Files News Service

Analyzes and explains controversial topics with balance and accuracy, probing hot public policy issues. Covers more than 70 controversial topics yearly; online access includes frequent updating, interviews with experts, statistical overviews of major issues, selected newspaper editorials, editorial cartoons, primary documents, a directory of contact organizations and curriculum/study aids.
Issues and Controversies

  Wilson Select Plus
Service = OCLC

Full text articles in science, humanities, education and business. Provides indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full-text periodical articles, many of which are linked to citations in other FirstSearch databases. Includes US and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines.
Wilson Select Plus

3rd go to subject guides for indepth resources

Research Aids

Citation & Format Guides
     APA / MLA
Dictionaries

Tips & Tutorials