Central High School: Genocide Research


Background Sources

Credo Reference
Service = Credo Reference

Credo Reference is a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Service = Gale Cengage Learning

Gale Virtual Reference Library offers you an online collection of premier reference eBooks. You can search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection - a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library


Secondary Sources

History Study Center
Service = ProQuest - Chadwyck Healey

History Study Center™ includes over 40,000 documents of historical reference material from ancient times through today's current events. This database consists of seven integrated resources that can be cross-searched through a single interface: 1) Study Units-500+ Study Units containing 30-80 items; 2) Reference Works-20,000+ articles from atlases, biographical collections, encyclopedias, and research guides; 3) Picture Library-3,000+ captioned historical photos, political cartoons, woodcuts; 4) Video Library-hundreds of historical video clips, captioned for context and searching; 5) Web Gateway-annotated links to thousands of reliable web sites, from the major primary source collections down to individual pages; 6) KnowledgeNotes™ History Guides-text-based topic guides about trends, events, and the science of history; and 7) Journal Library-cover-to-cover full text of 60 journals.
History Study Center

Books

Library Catalog
Service = CARLI (Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois)

Benner Library's Online Catalog.
Library Catalog

Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier

Primary Sources

AP Images
Service = EBSCO

Primary source database of photographs, audio, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. Over 2 million photographs dating back 1826, more than 1 million sound bites dating from the 1920’s, 2 million AP news stories from 1997, and collections of maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and illustrations are included. Updated with more than 3 thousand photos daily.
AP Images

Newspaper Articles

Newspaper Source
Service = EBSCO

Cover-to-cover full text for 25 national & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), and Toronto Star. Contains selected full text for more than 260 regional newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and NPR.
Newspaper Source

Chicago Tribune (Historical)
Service = ProQuest_Platform 2011

The Chicago Tribune (1848-1988) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Chicago Tribune (Historical)

New York Times (Historical)
Service = ProQuest_Platform 2011

The New York Times (1851-2008) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage: Sept 18, 1851-Dec 31, 2003.
New York Times (Historical)

MLA

Purdue Online Writing Lab