Spanish 322: Latin American Culture and Civilization



Latin American country background

Search for more books in the Library Catalog

Use reference sources to learn about your country. Consider these suggested print and online resources:

General info.
Art
  • Encyclopedia of world art (call number: R 703 En19e )
  • Dictionary of art (call number: R 703 D561g)
  • Artists from Latin American cultures : a biographical dictionary(2002) (call number: R 927 C76a)
Economy
  • Illustrated book of world rankings (call number: R 310 K965n, 1997)
  • Nations of the world 2000/01: a political, economic and business handbook (call number: R 909.83 N213g 2000-01)
Evangelical church activities
  • Christian Periodical Index: article database about Christianity & evangelicals
  • Directory of indigenous Christian organizations (call number: R 209.025 D 628L)
  • Encyclopedia of women and world religion (call number: R 200.82 En19y)
  • Nazarene District Assembly Meeting minutes (on the "NPH" wall in the LowerLevel, Box 16: Latin American Districts)
  • World Christian encyclopedia : a comparative survey of churches and religions in the modern world (call number: R 230.003 W893b, 2001)
Geography
  • List of world map sites produced by US Gov.
  • Lands and peoples (call number: R 910 L238g, 1995)
  • Times atlas of the 20th century (call number: R 909.82 T482o)
History
  • Humanities E-Book
  • Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society and Culture (call number: R 927.003 En19w)
  • Latin America, history and culture : an encyclopedia for students call number: R 980.003 L349t (4 Volumes)
  • Latin American political dictionary (call number: R 980.003 R735L)
  • Notable twentieth-century Latin American women : a biographical dictionary (2001) Call number: R 920.72 N843L
Literature
  • MLA Bibliography: articles database covering literature, languages, linguistics, folklore.
  • JStor: An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
  • Encyclopedia of world mythology (call number: R 398.03 En19)
  • Folklore : an encyclopedia of beliefs, customs, tales, music, and art (call number: R 398.03 F719g )
  • Latin American literature and its times (call number: R 860.9 M855L)

Current Events

Use article databases to search for current events. Remember to limit the date range to current info. Check for a “language” option; choose Spanish.

Academic Search Premier: Full text periodical database AP Images (AP): Photos, graphics, and news from Associated Press ArticleFirst: Index of articles from 12,500 journals Newspaper Source: EBSCO full text newspaper sources

Go to the Spanish-language links in LexisNexis (database) on the Spanish subject guide.

Suggested links

Images

Give credit for images which you copy from the Web or scan from a print source!

Most images from US government-published websites are OK to use without permission. But, some may be protected by license; read the disclaimers on each site.