Spanish 321: Spanish Culture and Civilization
Project 1: Spanish-speaking country background
Search for more books in
BLISweb
Service = CARLI (Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois)
Benner Library's Online Catalog.BLISweb
Give credit for images you copy from the Web or scan from a print source! Most images from
US government-published websites are OK to use without permission. But, some may be protected by license; read the disclaimers on each site.
Use reference sources to learn about your country. Consider these suggested print and online resources:
General info.
- Background notes from the US Department of State (also in 2 white binders. R 910.5 B126)
- World Factbook by the CIA
- Country Studies
from Library of Congress and US Army
- Official websites of national governments list compiled by Northwestern University Libraries
- Biography Index
Service = EBSCO
Biography Index: Past and Present is a trusted, biographical resource. Featuring retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946, it combines retrospective coverage with current indexing to produce a comprehensive biographical resource for students, scholars, media professionals, book clubs, and all researchers seeking biographical information. Content Includes: Over a million article and book citations Retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946 Coverage of present-day news-makers Entries on individuals that reflect the perspective of the time when they were writtenBiography Index
- Global Road Warrior
Service = World Trade Press
Coverage on 175 countries in easy-to-use format includes traditions, habits, and social norms of people, as well as information on governments, culture, and health care.Global Road Warrior
- World Almanac
Service = OCLC (305)
Created especially for schools and libraries, World Almanac includes the most current and previous editions of The World Almanac and Book of Facts, with the complete updated and enhanced World Almanac Encyclopedia (Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia). Editorial hyperlinking leads from detailed tables in The World Almanac to related statistical material, background articles, and biographies in The World Almanac Encyclopedia, the most recent developments as reported in the World News Digest, and related coverage in Today's Science and Issues & Controversies. World Almanac
- American immmigrant culture (call number: R 305.8 Am 35L)
- Business Spain: A practical guide to understanding Spanish business culture (call number: R 395.52 K36b)
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of cultures & Daily Life R 305.8W893g)
Art
- Encyclopedia of world art (call number: R 703 En19e )
- Dictionary of art (call number: R 703 D561g)
Economy
- Illustrated book of world rankings (call number: R 310 K965n, 1997)
- Nations of the world 2000/01: a political, sconomic and business handbook (call number: R 909.83 N213g 2000-01)
Evangelical church activities
- Christian Periodical Index
Service = EBSCO
The Christian Periodical Index indexes more than 130 English language periodicals over the period from 1976 to the present, containing over 200,000 records including both journal articles and reviews. The journals included cover a broad spectrum of knowledge, including the Christian aspects of science, literature, medicine, political science, music, philosophy, history, sociology, nursing, and education, representing a wide range of doctrinal positions within evangelical Christianity.Christian Periodical Index article database about Christianity & evangelicals
- Directory of indigenous Christian organizations (call number: R 209.025 D 628L)
- Encyclopedia of women and world religion (call number: R 200.82 En19y)
- World Christian encyclopedia : a comparative survey of churches and religions in the modern world(call number: R 230.003 W893b, 2001)
Geography
- List of world map sites produced by US Gov.
- Lands and peoples (call number: R 910 L238g, 1995)
- Maps on file (call number: R 912 M322f) **good for making handouts**
- Times atlas of the 20th century (call number: R 909.82 T482o)
History
Literature
- MLA Bibliography
Service = ProQuest_Platform 2011
The MLA International Bibliography is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run, and currently contains more than 2 million records. In addition, the MLA Directory of Periodicals gives full information on over 7,100 journals and book series. MLA Bibliography articles database covering literature, languages, linguistics, folklore.
- Encyclopedia of world mythology (call number: R 398.03 En19)
- Folklore : an encyclopedia of beliefs, customs, tales, music, and art (call number: R 398.03 F719g )
- Oxford companion to Spanish literature (call number: R 860.3 Ox2w)
Project 2: Current events
Use article databases to search for current events. Remember to limit the date range to current info.
Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. Academic Search Premier - Full text periodical database
AP Images (AP)
Service = Associated Press, The
Primary source database that takes users on a sensory journey of photographs, audio, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. Over 2 million photographs dating back 1826, more than 1 million sound bites dating from the 1920’s, 2 million AP news stories from 1997, and collections of maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and illustrations are included. Updated with more than 3 thousand photos daily. AP Images (AP) - Photos, graphics, and news from Associated Press
ArticleFirst
Service = OCLC (305)
An OCLC FirstSearch multidisciplinary index of articles over 16,000 journals. It also provides a list of libraries that have the journal title for most journal issues. ArticleFirst - Index of articles from 12,500 journals
Facts on File News - Wide variety of news summaries
Newspaper Source
Service = EBSCO
Cover-to-cover full text for 25 national & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), and Toronto Star. Contains selected full text for more than 260 regional newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and NPR. Newspaper Source- EBSCO full text newspaper sources
Project 3: Recipes
To find more books, do a 'Subject' search for international cooking in
BLISweb
Service = CARLI (Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois)
Benner Library's Online Catalog.BLISweb.