Spanish 321: Spanish Culture and Civilization
Project 1: Spanish-speaking country background
Search for more books in
BLISweb
Give credit for images you copy from the Web or scan from a print source! Most images from
US government-published websites are OK to use without permission. But, some may be protected by license; read the disclaimers on each site.
Use reference sources to learn about your country. Consider these suggested print and online resources:
General info.
Art
- Encyclopedia of world art (call number: R 703 En19e )
- Dictionary of art (call number: R 703 D561g)
Economy
- Illustrated book of world rankings (call number: R 310 K965n, 1997)
- Nations of the world 2000/01: a political, sconomic and business handbook (call number: R 909.83 N213g 2000-01)
Evangelical church activities
- Christian Periodical Index article database about Christianity & evangelicals
- Directory of indigenous Christian organizations (call number: R 209.025 D 628L)
- Encyclopedia of women and world religion (call number: R 200.82 En19y)
- World Christian encyclopedia : a comparative survey of churches and religions in the modern world(call number: R 230.003 W893b, 2001)
Geography
- List of world map sites produced by US Gov.
- Lands and peoples (call number: R 910 L238g, 1995)
- Maps on file (call number: R 912 M322f) **good for making handouts**
- Times atlas of the 20th century (call number: R 909.82 T482o)
History
Literature
- MLA BibliographyMLA Bibliography articles database covering literature, languages, linguistics, folklore.
- Encyclopedia of world mythology (call number: R 398.03 En19)
- Folklore : an encyclopedia of beliefs, customs, tales, music, and art (call number: R 398.03 F719g )
- Oxford companion to Spanish literature (call number: R 860.3 Ox2w)
Project 2: Current events
Use article databases to search for current events. Remember to limit the date range to current info.
Academic Search Premier - Full text periodical database
AP Images - Photos, graphics, and news from Associated Press
ArticleFirst - Index of articles from 12,500 journals
Facts on File News - Wide variety of news summaries
Newspaper Source - EBSCO full text newspaper sources
Project 3: Recipes
Search for
international cooking in BLISweb to find more books