SOCY 372: Criminology

Newspapers

Newspaper Source 
Cover-to-cover full text for 25 national & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), and Toronto Star. Contains selected full text for more than 260 regional newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and NPR.

Lexis Nexis 
Academic (Lexis-Nexis) provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. Newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Chicago Tribune (Historical) 
The Chicago Tribune (1848-1988) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

New York Times (Historical) 
The New York Times (1851-2008) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage: Sept 18, 1851-Dec 31, 2003.

MasterFILE Premier 
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Business Insights: Essentials 
Research businesses, analyze and compare financial data with interactive charting tools, and study product and brand information

Background Sources

Gale Virtual Reference Library 
Gale Virtual Reference Library offers you an online collection of premier reference eBooks. You can search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection - a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Gale Virtual Reference Library

Credo Reference 
Credo Reference is a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.

AP Images 
Primary source database of photographs, audio, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. Over 2 million photographs dating back 1826, more than 1 million sound bites dating from the 1920’s, 2 million AP news stories from 1997, and collections of maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and illustrations are included. Updated with more than 3 thousand photos daily.

History in Video 
A cross-searchable History in Video collection. This site allows you to search across all of the critically acclaimed video content in American History in Video and World History in Video. Currently History in Video provides 5,628 total titles, equaling approximately 1540 hours.

Books

Library Catalog 
Benner Library's Online Catalog.

I-Share 
80 Academic libraries in Illinois. Request books using the barcode number on your student ID.

WorldCat 
OCLC catalog of books and other materials that libraries own worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records, including records representing 400 languages.

Scholarly Articles

PsycINFO 
Published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed. Includes more than 2 million records.

SocINDEX 
This research database offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, and violence.

Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition 
Features abstracts & indexing for nearly 850 journals (550 are full text and 450 are peer-reviewed) focusing on many medical disciplines. Text dates back to 1975.

Academic Search Premier 
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

Criminal Justice Periodicals 
Comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. The database provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. Periodicals

Criminal Justice Periodicals 
Comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. The database provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. Periodicals

Sociology (ProQuest) 
Sociology and social work - journal articles This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

Wiley Online Library 
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.