Sociology

Databases

   Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier

   SocINDEX
Service = EBSCO

This research database offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, and violence.
SocINDEX

   Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Service = ProQuest_Platform 2011

International literature of sociology - journal articles, books, dissertations, etc. This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)

   Sociology (ProQuest)
Service = ProQuest_Platform 2011

Sociology and social work - journal articles This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Sociology (ProQuest)

   Wiley Online Library
Service = John Wiley & Sons Inc

Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
Wiley Online Library

Selected eBooks

   Credo Reference: Social Sciences
Service = Credo Reference

Search resources related to Social Sciences in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference: Social Sciences

   Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America
Service = Gale Cengage Learning

Basic information about the history of social welfare in Canada, Mexico, and the United States to provide readers with information about how these three nations have dealt with social welfare issues, some similar across borders, others unique, as well as to describe important events, developments, and the lives and work of some key contributors to social welfare developments.
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America

   Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Service = EBSCO

Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments



Other Resources

Class Guides


Websites

Research Aids

Citation & Format Guides
Dictionaries
 Credo Reference: Dictionaries
Service = Credo Reference

Search resources related to Dictionaries in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference: Dictionaries

 Oxford English Dictionary
Service = Oxford University Press

According to The Times, the Oxford English Dictionary is "the ultimate authority on the English language as well as a history of English speech and thought from its infancy to the present day." It is a unique source of scholarly information on the meaning, history and pronunciation of words both past and present. The OED provides authoritative definitions of over 500,000 words, traces the usage of words from their first recorded occurrence to the modern period through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international language sources, offers etymological analysis and detailed listings of variant spellings, and uses the International Phonetic Alphabet to show pronunciation.
Oxford English Dictionary

The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
Service = Credo Reference

One-volume dictionary defines often amorphous and fuzzy sociological concepts and provides an introduction to what it means to think sociologically. It includes a combination of prose, examples, and a single author's strong voice.
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology

Tips & Tutorials