Related Links

Library Subject Guide:
Social Work

SOWK 420: Social Policy Analysis

Reference books | Fulltext journals | Article databases | InterLibrary Loan | Recommended Websites | Help

Reference Books

Resources..
Keywords to try...
Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) to try...

legislation
"social welfare"
"social policy"
"public policy"

Social policy
Social policy--Decision making
Social problems
Social problems--United States.
Charities
Humanitarianism
Public welfare
Social problems
Social service

Examples from our collection:

Encyclopedia of social welfare history in North America (2005)
Call Number: R 361.97 En19h

Encyclopedia of social work : 2003 supplement. (2003)
Call Number: R 360.973 En19e, 2003

Social work almanac (1995)
Call Number: R 361.973 G435s, 1995

Welfare reform : a reference handbook (1996)
Call Number: R 361.973 H751w

Poverty in the United States : an encyclopedia of history, politics, and policy (2004)
Call Number: R 339.46 P869m .

Poverty : opposing viewpoints. (2004)
Call Number: R 362.50973 P869b, 2004

Health care policy and politics A to Z (2000)
Call Number: R 362.10973 R769h

Healthy people 2010 : understanding and improving health. (2001)
Call Number: R 362.10973 H349up, 2001

Full-text journals

All-fulltext journals

Law, Politics & Government
Social Sciences > Social Welfare & Social Work
Social Sciences > Sociology & Social History

 

Article databases

Database

Description

Wiley InterScience
Includes full-text articles of over 850 journals, covering subjects throughout medicine, science, social science and the humanities.
Issues and Controversies Analyzes and explains controversial topics with balance and accuracy, probing hot public policy issues. Covers more than 70 controversial topics yearly; online access includes frequent updating, interviews with experts, statistical overviews of major issues, selected newspaper editorials, editorial cartoons, primary documents, a directory of contact organizations and curriculum/study aids.
Lexis-Nexis-Legal Research
Lexis-Nexis-News
 
PsycARTICLES Full-text articles in general and specialized psychology. Includes all articles from the journal issues indexed, as well as errata and letters to the editor. Indexes selected U.S., Canadian and European psychology journals.
PsycINFO Psychology and related fields since 1806 including international material from periodicals written in 25+ languages. Includes current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present.
SocINDEX This research database offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, and violence.

 

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

Search for your article in our fulltext options

If it's not there, try our print holdings

Still can't find it? Use ILL:

  1. Request it through InterLibrary Loan
  2. Allow up to 2 weeks
  3. Send an email message from your Webmail account with complete citation information (and how you got the citation e.g. SocINDEX database).

 

Recommended Websites

General information

State informationState

  • Full-text state statutes and legislation on the Internet: “This page seeks to link to sites containing full-text state constitutions, statutes (called codes or compiled laws in some states), legislation (bills, amendments, etc.), session laws (bills that have become laws), and administrative rules. Updated 9/16/07.”


  • State Statutes on the Internet: Page within the Legal Information Institute (LII), the research and electronic publishing activity of the Cornell Law School

Federal information

  • U.S. Federal Government Agencies Directory
  • (Hierarchical and Alphabetical listings). Maintained by LSU Libraries.

  • FedStats: The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies

  • Administration for Children and Families

  • FedWorld In 1992, FedWorld was established by The National Technical Information Service (NTIS), an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce, to serve as the online locator service for a comprehensive inventory of information disseminated by the Federal Government. This service assisted agencies and the public in electronically locating Federal Government information, both information housed within the NTIS repository and outside of NTIS.

  • U.S. Census Bureau
  • : "The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy."

  • Thomas.gov
  • : "THOMAS was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress. The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public. Since that time THOMAS has expanded the scope of its offerings to include [these features and content]: Bills, Resolutions, Activity in Congress, Congressional Record, Schedules & Calendars, Committee Information, Presidential Nominations, Treaties. "