SOWK 213 & 214
Human Behavior in the Social Env. I & II

eJournals | Websites | Books

Article databases (use to identify article citations and find full-text):

Research & News Database
News AP Images (AP)
Primary source database containing photographs, audio, graphics and text. 2+ million photographs dating back 1826, 1+ million sound bites dating from the 1920’s, maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and illustrations. Photos updated daily.
News & Research Academic Search Premier
Fulltext of news articles and radio transcripts.
Research Wiley Online Library
Full-text articles of 850+ journals, including the social sciences.
Research PsycARTICLES
Full-text articles in general and specialized psychology.
Research SocINDEX
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, and violence.

Recommended Websites

National Research and Policy Organizations

General Statistical Data

Policy Analysis and Evaluation

Legislative Information and Updates

Books

Dewey Decimal Call Numbers for Social Work
Knowing and serving diverse families (2008)
Call Number: 362.82 K76h

Statistical Abstract of the US (2009)
Call Number: R 317.30n 33

Statistical Handbook on the American Family (1999)
Call Number: R 306.85 St29c

Families in America
R 306.85 T854f

Hispanic Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook
R 305.868 H625h

Mental Health: Culture, Race and Ethnicity (2001)
R 362.2 M528u

Find more:
  1. Search Library Catalog: (Olivet's catalog) or I-Share: (75+ academic libraries in Illinois)
  2. Use the "subject" tab to search for these subject headings:
    • African American Families.
    • Family services--United States.
    • Family social work--United States.
    • Multiculturalism--United States.