SOWK 213: Human Behavior and Social Env. I

eJournals | Websites | Books

eJournals

Law, Politics & Government
Social Sciences > Social Welfare & Social Work
Social Sciences > Sociology & Social History

Article databases (use to identify article citations and find full-text):

Research & News Database Description
News AP Images Archive  Primary source database containing photographs, audio, graphics and text. 2+ million photographs dating back 1826, 1+ million sound bites dating from the 1920’s, maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and illustrations. Photos updated daily.
News Lexis-Nexis-News  Fulltext of news articles and radio transcripts.
Research Wiley InterScience 
Full-text articles of 850+ journals, including the social sciences.
Research PsycARTICLES  Full-text articles in general and specialized psychology.
Research PsycINFO  Psychology and related fields since 1806. You may need to request some articles through Interlibrary Loan.
Research SocINDEX  Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, and violence.

Recommended Websites

General Statistical Data

Policy Analysis and Evaluation

Legislative Information and Updates

National Research and Policy Organizations

Selected Federal Agencies

Department of Health and Human Services
Administration for Children and Families
Agency for Health Care Policy and Research

Social Security and Elderly Information Sites

General U.S. Government Sites

  • Thomas (Library of Congress)

Books

Knowing and serving diverse families (2008)
Call Number: 362.82 K76h

Statistical Abstract of the US (2009)
Call Number: R 317.30n 33

Statistical Handbook on the American Family (1999)
Call Number: R 306.85 St29c

Families in America
R 306.85 T854f

Hispanic Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook
R 305.868 H625h

Mental Health: Culture, Race and Ethnicity (2001)
R 362.2 M528u

Find more:
  1. Search BLISweb (Olivet's catalog) or I-Share (75+ academic libraries in Illinois)
  2. Use the "subject" tab to search for these subject headings:
    • African American Families.
    • Family services--United States.
    • Family social work--United States.
    • Multiculturalism--United States.