THEO 310: Christian Theology I

Reference Desk's Best

 

The best book review resources for this class:

search tips ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Service = EBSCO

Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals (518 currently indexed), more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, and more than 511,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
: Supports religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. Includes a full range of ... citations to ...book reviews from three ATLA print indexes: Religion Index One, Religion Index Two, and Index to Book Reviews in Religion. print: 1974-present (Reference) | ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Service = EBSCO

Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals (518 currently indexed), more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, and more than 511,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
online
: 1949-present
search tips JStor
Service = JSTOR (ITHAKA)

An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
JStor
: Full-text Scholarly Journals dating back to the 19th century. Content from current 3-5 years not available.

Consult general print book review resources

search tips Book Review Digest Plus
Service = EBSCO

Book Review Digest Plus is a library tool that brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources. Unlike reviews on book-sale sites and the open Internet, many of the reviews are serious, academic works.
Book Review Digest Plus
: Citations and abstracts. Print: 1905-present | Online: 1983-present
Subjects: English language fiction and non-fiction books (except textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences). To be included a nonfiction book must have been reviewed 2+ times in selected periodicals. Fiction books have been reviewed 4+ times.
  Book Review Index: Citations only. Print: 1965-present
Subjects: Adult fiction and non-fiction, poetry & songbooks books for children, periodicals, audio books and electronic editions if also available in print. Contains a higher percentage of published book reviews than Book Review Digest.


Consult general online resources

Have a citation from a print source? See if we have full-text of the journal. Do we have the journal in print?

search tips OmniFile Full Text Select
Service = EBSCO

OmniFile Full Text, Select Edition™ is a full text-only database that contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.
OmniFile Full Text Select
: Full text articles in science, humanities, education and business
online: 1994-present
search tips ArticleFirst
Service = OCLC (305)

An OCLC FirstSearch multidisciplinary index of articles over 16,000 journals. It also provides a list of libraries that have the journal title for most journal issues.
ArticleFirst
: Index of articles from the contents pages of 12,000+ journals (1990 to present). Describes one article, news story, letter, or other item from a journal in each record. Subjects include: business, science, humanities, social science, medicine technology, and popular culture. Updated Daily.
online: 1990-present (partial full-text)
search tips Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier
: Contains full text reviews ranging from peer-reviewed journals to areas of study including: Biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language, arts and literature, medical sciences, and women's studies.
online: 1985-present

Need more sources? Consult specialized databases that index professional journals

Professional journals often contain reviews of new, significant works in that area:

  Guide to Social Science and Religion
Service = NPL (National Periodical Library)

Includes citation entries for each periodical article in the subject areas of the social sciences and religion, including the approximate number of words in the article. The full text of each published index since 1993 is available on the website.
Guide to Social Science and Religion
: Indexes Nazarene publications!
print: 1972-2001 (Reference) | online: 1993-
search tips Philosophers Index
Service = EBSCO

Produced by the Philosopher's Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher’s Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
Philosophers Index
: The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics as well as material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, history, and education.
print: 1992 (Reference) | Philosophers Index
Service = EBSCO

Produced by the Philosopher's Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher’s Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
Philosophers Index
online: 1990-present

Search tips

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Service = EBSCO

Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals (518 currently indexed), more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, and more than 511,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Search:

  • Limit your documents to "Reviews"
  • Do a title search with selected words from the book title
JStor
Service = JSTOR (ITHAKA)

An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
JStor

Search:

  • Click on Advanced Search
  • Under “Narrow Your Search To:” find the box next to “Review” and checkmark it.
  • Search in the “exact phrase” box for the title of the book.
Book Review Digest Plus
Service = EBSCO

Book Review Digest Plus is a library tool that brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources. Unlike reviews on book-sale sites and the open Internet, many of the reviews are serious, academic works.
Book Review Digest Plus

Search:

  • Type the last name of the author, Choose Author from the drop down menu on one line
  • Type important words from the title choosing Title on the next line
  • Limit type to "book reviews"
OmniFile Full Text Select
Service = EBSCO

OmniFile Full Text, Select Edition™ is a full text-only database that contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.
OmniFile Full Text Select

ArticleFirst
Service = OCLC (305)

An OCLC FirstSearch multidisciplinary index of articles over 16,000 journals. It also provides a list of libraries that have the journal title for most journal issues.
ArticleFirst

Search:

  • Enter the last name of the author and important words from the title as keywords.
  • Choose "Book Review" for record type if available.
Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier


Advanced Search:

  • In the 1st find box, type "book review"
  • In the 2nd find box, type full title of the book as a subject (SU). Click on search.
Expert Search:
  • In the find box, type "book review" in parentheses ()
  • Type SU and the title of the book i.e. (book review) SU Swiss Family Robinson
  • NOTE: One advantage to using the Expert search is that you will have a record of your search history available to use at any time
  • Use the "Book Review" limiter
  • Do a keyword search or choose 'title' from the drop down menu
Philosophers Index
Service = EBSCO

Produced by the Philosopher's Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher’s Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
Philosophers Index

Search:

  • Limit your documents to "Book Reviews"
  • Do a title search with selected words from the book title