Theology
Databases
All-at-Once search of librarian-recommended
Theology databases.
Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. Academic Search Premier
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Service = EBSCO
Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals (518 currently indexed), more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, and more than 511,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association. ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Biblical Archaeology Society Archive
Service = Biblical Archaeology Society
The Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS) disseminates information about archaeology in Bible lands through its bi-monthly magazine, Biblical Archaeology Review and at www.biblicalarchaeology.org. Biblical Archaeology Society Archive
Christian Periodical Index
Service = EBSCO
The Christian Periodical Index indexes more than 130 English language periodicals over the period from 1976 to the present, containing over 200,000 records including both journal articles and reviews. The journals included cover a broad spectrum of knowledge, including the Christian aspects of science, literature, medicine, political science, music, philosophy, history, sociology, nursing, and education, representing a wide range of doctrinal positions within evangelical Christianity.Christian Periodical Index
Guide to Social Science and Religion
Service = NPL (National Periodical Library)
Includes citation entries for each periodical article in the subject areas of the social sciences and religion, including the approximate number of words in the article. The full text of each published index since 1993 is available on the website. Guide to Social Science and Religion
JStor
Service = JSTOR (ITHAKA)
An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.JStor
MinistryMatters
Service = United Methodist Publishing House
A comprehensive collection of tools for the study of Scripture including biblical commentaries, dictionaries, and other reference resources.MinistryMatters
OAIster
Service = OCLC (305)
Contains digital resources from open archive collections, including digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and datasets. It represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1000 contributors worldwide and the records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click.OAIster
Philosophers Index
Service = EBSCO
Produced by the Philosopher's Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher’s Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages. Philosophers Index
Religious & Theological Abstracts
Service = Religious & Theological Abstracts
Provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology, a list a wide variety of periodical literature (including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions), and English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.Religious & Theological Abstracts
TREN (Theological Research Exchange Network)
Service = Theological Research Exchange Network
TREN is a library of over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 70 different institutions. It also makes available conference papers presented at annual meetings of several academic societies.TREN (Theological Research Exchange Network)
Selected eBooks
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection Series 1
Service = EBSCO
Series 1 presents more than 15,000 titles from 13th Century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. The historical time period of the collection reflects upon a time of great doctrinal, social, and organizational change. The collection includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek, Hebrew and other languages besides English, documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era and provides an in-depth view of the way that interest in, and knowledge of, biblical languages emerged during the nineteenth century, an important foundation for today’s study and understanding of biblical languages.ATLA Historical Monographs Collection Series 1
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2
Service = EBSCO
Series 2 consists of nearly 15,000 titles published from 1894 through 1923. It presents a comprehensive picture of religion in America at the turn of the century. Subjects addressed include the conflict between religion and science, the growing interest in Eastern religions and other world religions, and significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans.ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Service = The University of Chicago Press
The Online Edition of the Chicago Manual of Style includes recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices, tools, a quick guide, and Q&A section.Chicago Manual of Style Online
Credo Reference: Religion
Service = Credo Reference
Search resources related to Religion in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials. Credo Reference: Religion
Encyclopedia of Religion
Service = Gale Cengage Learning
Over 3300 articles approach content cross-culturally while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.Encyclopedia of Religion
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Service = Taylor & Francis Online
In addition to the full content of the classic 10-volume set which remains at its core and regular additions of new articles, REP Online also provides editorially reviewed links to other sites and resources on the web, revisions and updates of key entries. It contains a wide breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy, and over 25,000 hot-linked cross-references between articles and new links to other editorially reviewed websites. Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Routledge Religion Resource
Service = Taylor & Francis Online
Consists of the contents of about 30 key religion reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical sources) on many aspects of religious studies. Titles include Encyclopedia of Protestantism, The Papacy: an Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia of Early Christianity, The Encyclopedia of Ethics, The Reformation World. Routledge Religion Resource
Other Resources
Class Guides
Websites
Research Aids
Citation & Format Guides
Dictionaries
Tips & Tutorials