Resources

Bold Titles are in the Reference Section with their call numbers
Check BLISWeb for call number and availability of other titles

Recommended resources for beginning an exegesis

Sections:
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Atlases
Standard Commentaries
Discussions relating to Exegetical & Hermeneutical Process
Lexicons
Concordances
Language and Word Studies
Bibliographic Study Guides
Selected Topics
Introductions to the New Testament
Periodicals and Journals

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Atlases

Anchor Bible Dictionary, 6 vols., Freedman, D. N., ed. Call number: R 220.3An22f
The Archaeological Encyclopedia of the Holy Land, Rev.ed. Negev, Avraham, ed.
Atlas of the Bible and Christianity, Dowley, Tim, ed.
The Cambridge Companion to the Bible, Kee, Howard Clark et al., eds.
Concise Bible Atlas: A Geographical Survey of Bible History, Laney, J. Carl
Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation, 2 vols., Hayes, John H., ed.
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels
Dictionary of New Testament Background, Evans, Craig A. and Stanley E. Porter, eds.
Dictionarv of Paul and His Letters
Dictionarv of the Later New Testament & Its Development
Encyclopedia Judaica, 16 vols., Roth C. et al., eds..
Encyclopedia of Apocalypticism, 3 vols. Collins, John, J. ed.
Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament, 3 vols., Balz, Horst and Gerhard Schneider, eds.
Handbook of Biblical Criticism, 3nd ed., Soulen, Richard and R. Kendall Soulen
Handbook of Life in Bible Times, Thompson, J. A.
The Harper Atlas of the Bible, Pritchard, James B., ed.
Harper's Bible Dictionary, Achtemeier, P. J., ed.
Harper's Encyclopedia of Bible Life, Madeline S. and J. Lane Miller
Historical Handbook of Major Biblical Interpreters. McKim, K. Donald, ed.
The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia, 4 vols., Bromiley, G. W., Rev.ed.
Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible, 4 Volumes plus a Supplementary Volume
Jesus and His World: An Archaeological and Cultural Dictionary, Rousseau, John J. and Rami Arav
The Macmillan Bible Atlas, Aharoni, Yohanan and Michael Avi-Yonah, eds.
The New International Dictionary of Biblical Archaeology, Blaiklock, Edward M. and R. K. Harrison, eds.
A Student's Dictionary for Biblical and Theological Studies, Huey, F. B. and Bruce Corley
The Oxford Classical Dictionary, 2nd ed.
Zondervan's Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 vols., Tenney, M. C., ed.

Standard Commentaries

Anchor Bible
Expositor's Bible Commentary
Hermeneia: A Critical and Historical Commentary on the Bible
International Critical Commentary (older)
Interpretation Bible Commentary
The IVP New Testament Commentary Series
New Century Bible
The New International Bible Commentary

New International Commentary on the New Testament (NICNT) Call numer: R225.7N42e --Note: contains historical and grammatical information
New International Greek Testament Commentary
New Interpreter's Bible Call number: R220.77N42a (second copy on Reserve)--Note: contains literary and structural information
The Old Testament Library
Sacra Pagina
Tyndale New Testament Commentary
Wesleyan Bible Commentary
Word Biblical Commentary Call Number: R 220.77 W891 --Note: contains literary and structural information, followed by verse-by-verse exegesis

Avoid these sources:

  • Biblical Illustrator
  • Pulpit Commentary
  • Speaker's Bible
  • Hailev's Handbook
  • Matthew Henry's Commentary
  • An Exposition of the Whole Bible

Discussions Relating to the Exegetical and Hermeneutical Process

Anderson, Janice Capel and Stephen D. Moore, eds. Mark and Method: New Approaches in Biblical Studies
Carson, D. A. Exegetical Fallacies, 2nd ed.
Conzelmann, Hans and Andreas Lindemann. Interpreting the New Testament: An Introduction to the Principles and Methods of NT Exegesis
Carver, Frank G. Jr. "A Working Model for Teaching Exegesis." In Interpreting God's Word Today
Fee, Gordon D. New Testament Exegesis: A Handbook for Students and Pastors, 3rd ed.
Fee, Gordon D. and Douglas Stuart, How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth, 2nd ed.
Gorman, Michael J. Elements of Biblical Exegesis: A Basic Guide for Students and Ministers
Green, Joel B., ed., Hearing the New Testament: Strategies for Interpretation
Hayes, John H. Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation Call number R 220.603 D561h
Hayes, John H. and Carl R. Holladay, Biblical Exegesis: A Beginner's Handbook
Hirsch, J. D., Validity in Interpretation
Iser, Wolfgang, "The Reading Process: A Phenomenological Approach." In Reader-Response Criticism: From Formalism to Post-Structuralism
Klein, William W., Craig L.Blomberg, and Robert L. Hubbard, Jr., Introduction to Biblical Interpretation
Krentz, Edgar, The Historical-Critical Method
Ladd, George Eldon, The New Testament and Criticism
Long, V. Philips, The Art of Biblical History. Foundations of Contemporary Interpretation, Vol. 5
Longman, Tremper, III, Literary Approaches to Biblical Interpretation
McKenzie, Steven L. and Stephen R. Haynes, eds. To Each Its Own Meaning: An Introduction to Biblical Criticisms and their Application
McKim, Donald K., ed., Historical Handbook of Major Biblical Interpreters - R 220.609 H629m
McKnight, Scott, ed., Introducing New Testament Interpretation
Michaels, J. Ramsey, Interpreting the Book of Revelation
Mickelsen, A. Berkeley, Interpreting the Bible
Mickelsen, A. Berkeley and Alvera M., Undertanding Scripture: How to Read and Understand the Bible
Osborne, Grant R., The Hermeneutical Spiral: A Comprehensive Introduction to Biblical Interpretation
Perrin, Norman, What is Redaction Criticism?
Petersen, Norman R., Literary Criticism for New Testament Critics
Ryken, Leland, How to Read the Bible as Literature
Sanders, E. P. and Margaret Davies, Studying the Synoptic Gospels
Soulen, Richard N. and R. Kendall Soulen, Handbook of Biblical Criticism, 3rd rev. ed. - R 220.6 So83h, 2001
Stein, Robert H., A Basic Guide to Interpreting the Bible: Playing by the Rules

 

_____. Interpreting Puzzling Texts in the New Testament
Stuart, Douglas, Old Testament Exegesis: A Primer for Students and Pastors, 2nd ed.
Tate, W. Randolph, Biblical Interpretation: An Integrated Approach
Thistleton, Anthony C. The Two Horizons: New Testament Hermeneutics and Philosophical Description with Special Reference to Heidegger, Bultmann, Gadamer, and Wittgenstein
_____. New Horizons in Hermeneutics: The Theory and Practice of Transforming Biblical Reading
_____. Promise of Hermeneutics
Tuckett, Christopher, Reading the New Testament: Methods of Interpretation
Turner, Nicholas, Handbook for Biblical Studies
Virker, Henry A., Hermeneutics: Principles and Processes of Biblical Interpretation

Lexicons

Brown, F., Driver, S. R., and C. A. Briggs, A Hebrew and English Lexicon of the Old Testament
Danker, Frederick William, A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature, 3rd rev. ed.
Holliday, W. L., Concise Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament
Louw, J. P., Lida, E. A., A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament Based on Semantic Domains

Concordances

Goodrick, E. and J. R. Kohlenberger. eds. The NIV Exhaustive Concordance
Kohlenberger, J. R., ed. The NRSV Concordance Unabridged
The New American Standard Exhaustive Concordance
Strong, J. Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
Young, R. Analytical Concordance to the Bible

Language and Word Studies

Aland, K. et al. eds., Greek New Testament, 4th rev.ed.
_____ , ed., Synopsis of the Four Gospels
_____ , ed., Synopsis Quattuor Evangeliorum, 13th ed.
Aland, K. and B. Aland, The Text of the New Testament
Black, David Alan, Using New Testament Greek in Ministry: A Practical Guide for Students and Pastors
Botterweck, G. J. and H. Ringgren, eds., Theological Dictionarv of the OT
Brown, Colin. New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology.
Bullinger, E. W., Figures of Speech Used in the Bible
DeMoss, Matthew S. Pocket Dictionary for the Study of New Testament Greek
Douglas, J. D., ed. NRSV Greek-English Interlinear New Testament
Earl, R. Word Meanings in the NT
Easley, Kendell H. User Friendly Greek: A Common Sense Approach to the Greek New Testament
Elliger, K. and W. Rudolph, eds., Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia
Green, J., Interlinear New Testament
Greenlee, J. Harold. A Concise Exegetical Grammar of New Testament Greek
________. Introduction to New Testament Textual Criticism
Harris, R. L. et al, eds. Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament, 2 vols.
Kittel, G. and Friedrich G. Theological Dictionarv of the NT
Kohlenberger, J. R., ed., NIV Interlinear Hebrew-English Old Testament
Liddell, H. G. and R. Scott, A Greek-English Lexicon
Machen, J. Gresham and Dan G. McCartney, New Testament Greek for Beginners, 2nd ed.
Metzger, B. M., ed., A Textual Commentary on the Greek New Testament Text of the New Testament
Moulton, H. K., ed. The Analytical Greek Lexicon Revised
Nestle-Aland, Novum Testamentum Graece, 26th ed.
Owens, J. J., Analytical Key to the Old Testament, 4 Vols.
Owens, Timothy, A Cumulative Index to New Testament Greek Grammars
Rahlfs, A. Septuaginta (LXX)
Richardson, A Theological Wordbook of the Bible
Robertson, A. T., Word Pictures in the NT
Vincent, Word Studies in the NT
Vine's Complete Expositorv of Old and New Testament Words
Wigram, George, The Englishman's Greek Concordance of the New Testament
Winter, Ralph D. and Roberta H. Winter, The Word Study New Testament (Use in conjunction with The Word Study Concordance ed. by George Wigram and Ralph P. Winter)

Bibliographic Study Guides

Carson, D. A., New Testament Commentarv Survey. 4th ed.
Danker, F. W., An Introductory Bibliography for the Study of Scripture
_____. Multipurpose Tools for Bible Study, Rev. ed.
Scholer, David M., A Basic Bibliograohic Guide for NT Exegesis

Selected Topics

The Apocalypse: A Reading of the Revelation of John, Charles H. Talbert
The Canon of Scripture, F. F. Bruce
The Christians as the Romans Saw Them, Robert L. Wilken
The Dawn of Apocalyptic: The Historical and Sociological Roots of Jewish Apocalyptic Eschatology, Paul D. Hanson
The Dead Sea Scrolls in English, 3rd ed., Vermes, Geza
The Historv of the Jewish People in the Time of Jesus Christ. Emil Schurer, 5 Volumes
The Household of God: The Social World of the Pastoral Epistles, David C. Verner
The IVP Bible Background Commentary: New Testament, Craig S. Keener
The First Urban Christians: The Social World of the Apostle Paul, Wayne Meeks
Five Stages of Greek Religion, Gilbert Murray
From the Maccabees to the Mishnah, Shaye J. D. Cohen
Greek and Roman Religion: A Sourcebook, John Ferguson
Gnosticism, Robert M. Grant
Jerusalem in the Time of Jesus, Joachim Jeremias
Jewish Sects at the Time of Jesus, Marcel Simon
The Journey from Texts to Translations: The Origin and Development of the Bible, Paul Wegner
Judaism and Hellenism: Studies in their Encounter in Palestine During the Early Hellenistic Period, Martin Hengel
The Mishnah, Herbert Danby
The Moral World of the First Christians, Wayne Meeks
The New Testament as Canon: An Introduction, Brevard Childs
The New Testament in its Social Environment, John Stambaugh and David Balch
The New Testament World: Insights from Cultural Anthropology, Bruce J. Malina
The Method and Message of Jewish Apocalyptic: 200 B.C.-100 A.D., D. S. Russell
The New Manners and Customs of Bible Times, Ralph Gower
The New Testament in Its Social Environment, John E. Staumbaugh and David L. Balch
The Old Testament Pseudepigrapha, 2 vols., James H. Charlesworth, ed.
Paganism in the Roman Empire, Ramsay MacMullen
"Parallelomania," in Journal of Biblical Literature, 81:1-13
The World of the New Testament, Sean Freyne
The World of the Old Testament, A. S. Van der Woude
Kingdom and Community: The Social World of Early Christianity, John G. Gager

Introductions to the New Testament

Barr, David, New Testament Storv: An Introduction
Carson, D. A., Douglas J. Moo, and Leon Morris, An Introduction to the New Testament
Collins, Raymond F. Introduction to the New Testament
Gundry, R. A Survey of the New Testament, Rev. ed.
Guthrie, Donald, New Testament Introduction, 4th ed.
Harris, Stephen L., The New Testament: A Student's Introduction
Johnson, Luke T., The Writings of the New Testament: An Introduction
Kee, Howard Clark, Franklin W. Young, and Karlfried Froelich, Understanding the New
Testament
, 4th ed.
Kummel, Werner Georg, Introduction to the New Testament
Martin, R. P., New Testament Foundations: A Guide for Christian Students, 2 vols.
Spivey, Robert A. and D. Moody Smith, Anatomy of the New Testament, 5th ed.

Periodicals and Journals

Online databases:

ATLA
ATLAS
Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive
Guide to Social Science and Religion
Philosopher's Index
Routledge Philosophy Encyclopedia
Routledge Religion Resource

(Print) indexes to article citations:

Religion Index One: Periodicals
Religion Index Two: Multi-Author Works
Old Testament Abstracts
New Testament Abstracts

A selection of resources with common abbreviations:

Biblica (Bib)
Biblical Archaeologist (BA)
Biblical Archaeology Review (BAR)
Biblical Theology Bulletin (BTB)
Bibliotheca Sacra (BSac)
Catholic Biblical Quarterly (CBQ)
Expository Times (ExpT)
Evangelical Quarterly (EvQ)
Interpretation (Int)
Jewish Quarterly Review (JQR)
Journal for the Study of the New Testament (JSNT)
Journal of Biblical Literature (JBL)
New Testament Abstracts (NTA)
New Testament Studies (NTS)
Novum Testamentum (NovT)
Westminster Theological Journal (WTJ)