Christian Education

Databases

Research in Christian Education is not as straight forward as in other disciplines. Students should be familiar with research tools in the following subjects:
As it relates to working with children and youth. For Christian Ed. Topics it is more likely you will want to use CPI for more practical articles. ATLA is more for the theological ideas behind Christian Ed.
Religion Databases
  ATLA Religion Index
Service = OCLC

More religious or theological topic headings could be found in this database such as spirtuality, morality and moral ethics, pastoral theology, etc (Topic headings in CPI could be found here as well, but there will be more).
ATLA Religion Index

  Christian Periodical Index (EBSCO)
Service = EBSCO

More religious or practical topic headings could be found in this database such as prayer and devotions, church and children, church and youth, etc (the topic headings in ATLA could be found here as well, but they will be more practical in nature).
Christian Periodical Index (EBSCO)

Find information about teaching strategies, motivation, classroom techniques.
Education Databases
  ERIC (FirstSearch)
Service = OCLC

Teaching resources and subjects to help with teaching and learning. For example, teaching methods, classroom techniques, teacher effectiveness, etc.
ERIC (FirstSearch)

  ProQuest Education Journals
Service = ProQuest

This database can find more about general church and education topics as well as other education type subjects. Search: Religious Education, Religious education and teaching, etc.
ProQuest Education Journals

The following databases include articles about development, education, very general religion articles that could be found in all but below are specific areas that are prevalent in these databases.
Multi-Disciplinary Databases
  Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

child development, human development, etc.
Academic Search Premier

Search SocIndex for articles about sociology and how it concerns the church.
Social Issues
  SocINDEX
Service = EBSCO

more articles about sociology and how it concerns the church. Search ideas: church work with youth and children, social issues and the church, etc.
SocINDEX

Related Websites

Government Sites
Selected Websites

Research Aids

Turabian Writing Tips
Turabian Citation Help


Library Resource Guides

Exegesis
Finding Books
Religion Careers

Possible ways to search:
If you were wanting a practical way to teach 5th graders about God, you would probably want to look in the Education databases for the teaching techniques and then apply those to your topic about God. However, if you wanted to know about a general Christian Education topic like trends in youth ministry, you would want to look for that in CPI, ATLA, or some of the multi-disciplinary databases. In other words, the nature of your search, dictates what databases and disciplines you will use.