Political Science
Databases
Search the starred databases all at once:
Academic LexisNexis
Service = LexisNexis
Academic (Lexis-Nexis) provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. Newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
Academic LexisNexis
Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides
full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed
titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals,
and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on
a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier*
CQ Researcher
Service = CQ Press
The CQ Researcher Online contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Controversial topics are addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner in the CQ tradition.
CQ Researcher
CQ Weekly
Service = CQ Press
Expert coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. Produced by the largest news team on Capitol Hill.
CQ Weekly
GPO Monthly
Service = OCLC
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Includes a bibliographic citation in each record.
GPO Monthly Catalog
JStor
Service = JStor
An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
JStor*
LexisNexis Gallup Poll News
Service = Lexis Nexis
The Gallup Poll News Service is the internet's leading polling-based news source. The Gallup Poll News Service provides news centered on public opinion. Published each business day, articles from the Gallup Poll News Service analyze findings and trends in politics, business, social issues, and Americans' lifestyles.
LexisNexis Gallup Poll News
LexisNexis Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefings
Service = Lexis Nexis
The Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefing is Gallup's premier weekly online news publication. Each Tuesday, the Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefing publishes in-depth articles on the opinions and issues Gallup is investigating in government, in the workplace, in schools, in hospitals, and in faith communities.
LexisNexis Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefings
LexisNexis Legal Research
Service = Lexis Nexis
Use the Legal tab to search within law review journals, federal and state cases or codes, tax law, and international legislation.
LexisNexis Legal Research
Military & Government Collection
Service = EBSCO
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. It provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals plus full text for 245 pamphlets; it offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
Military & Government Collection
OAIster
Service = OCLC
Contains digital resources from open archive collections, including digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and datasets. It represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1000 contributors worldwide and the records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click.
OAIster
Westlaw Campus Research
Service = Thomson West
Provides students with access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources. It is divided into two content tabs, "News and Business" and "Law." An advanced search feature provides boolean search connectors such as AND and OR to further refine searches.
Westlaw Campus Research
Wiley InterScience
Service = Wiley InterScience
Includes full-text articles of over 850 journals, covering subjects throughout medicine, science, social science and the humanities.
Wiley InterScience
Selected eBooks
CQ's Vital Statistics on American Politics Online Edition
Service = CQ Press
Vital Statistics on American Politics from 1788-2006. Covers a wide range of topics including data on elections, Congress, the presidency, the judiciary, the media, campaign finances, foreign, social, and economic policy, issues related to state and local government, votes cast and offices won, rankings of public officials' reputations, and public opinion data about policy issues.
CQ's Vital Statistics on American Politics Online Edition
Credo Reference: Law
Service = Credo Reference formerly Xrefer
Search resources related to Law in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference: Law
Credo Reference: Social Sciences
Service = Credo Reference formerly Xrefer
Search resources related to Social Sciences in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference: Social Sciences
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Service = Thomson Gale
This six-volume edition of the 1987 Dartmouth Medal-winner includes all of the material from the original four-volume set and 1992 Supplement, as well as updated original articles and new articles covering concepts and court cases since 1992. Appendices include a case index and primary documents.
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Routledge Politics & International Relations Resource
Service = Routledge
Provides full text of over 25 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more. Examples: China Handbook, Dictionary of the European Union, Dictionary of Human Rights, Encyclopedia of Democratic Thought, Encyclopedia of Government and Politics, Encyclopedia of Human Rights, Encyclopedia of Political Economy, Encyclopedia of the UN and International Agreements, European Union Handbook, International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics, Major International Treaties of the Twentieth Century, Reader's Guide to the SocialSciences, Routledge Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Political Thinkers, Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political Economy, and Terrorism Reader.
Routledge Politics & International Relations Resource
Statemen's Yearbook Online
Service = Palgrave Macmillan
The Statesman's Yearbook, regularly updated to reflect chronologies of recent world events and accurate descriptions of International Organizations, contains information essential for diplomats, politicians and statesmen involved with international affairs and for anyone needing reliable, concise information on any country in the world. It has been published continuously since 1864, with expanding coverage of history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country worldwide. It also provides extensive further reading lists and web links for further research.
Statemen's Yearbook Online
Other Resources
Class Guides
Websites
Research Aids
Citation & Format Guides
APA /
MLA/
Chicago (Turabian)
Dictionaries
Tips & Tutorials