PHSC 102: General Physical Science

Popular -v- Scholarly | Article Databases | Science Journals at Benner | Citation Information | Avoiding Plagiarism


Popular -v- Scholarly Sources

The most important differences are indicated in italic.

 

Popular Sources

Scholarly Sources

Appearance
  • May have advertisements
  • Colorful
  • Mostly text with some figures and tables
Audience
  • Lay people
  • Scholars, students, practitioners
Author
  • Usually journalists
  • Scholars, researchers, practitioners (i.e. doctors)
  • Experts in their field!
Editorial process
  • Professional editor reviews article
Structure
  • May have incomplete references in body of text
  • May have signed articles
  • Articles have an extensive bibliography with complete references
  • Signed articles
  • Methods & results sections (tutorial on understanding the parts of a scholarly article)
Samples
  • Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)
  • Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics (PCCP)

Article Databases

Olivet Nazarene University's Benner Library subscribes to over 100 databases and electronic resources. Many databases contain citation information and full-text for scholarly articles. Use the links below to search for scholarly articles. If you are off campus and want to connect to our online databases, you must first authenticate through the proxy server. When you click on the "off-campus" link, you'll be prompted to log-in using your ONU password (the some one you use for Webmail and BlackBoard).

Tutorial on how to search for an article

Database

Discipline and Description

ERIC (FirstSearch) (Free version) Education.
Communication and Mass Media Communication. Research communication and mass media
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition Health Care. Covers nursing care, patient advice, clinical information, health.
Medline Health Care. Abstracted articles from medical journals.
Physical Education Index Physical Education. Articles on sports medicine, kinesiology, recreation, fitness, sports equipment, etc.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text Criminal Justice. Law enforcement, corrections administration, family law, and security information.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Religion.
American Chemical Society Chemistry. Access to 30+ journals published by the American Chemical Society

PsycARTICLES

Psychology. Full-text articles

SocINDEX Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Recommended Science Journals at Benner

See if we have a print subscription: search by title
Fulltext eJournals: search by title or browse by topic


Citation Information

Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) has excellent resources to describe these citation styles


Avoiding Plagiarism