Philosophy

Databases

Search the starred databases all at once:

  Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier

  ATLA Religion Index
Service = OCLC

A religion index that includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays, and book reviews from three ATLA print indexes: Religion Index One, Religion Index Two, and Index to Book Reviews in Religion, as well as international titles and multi-author works. Spans over 50 years with selected records going back to 1818, covering over 1500 journals.
ATLA Religion Index*

  JStor
Service = JStor

An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
JStor*

  Philosophers Index
Service = OCLC

Philosophers Index covers all major fields of philosophy such as aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, etc., and philosophy of related interdisciplinary fields such as education, history, law and religion. It contains citation information and author-written abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews, published from 1940 to the present and indexes over 560 journals from more than 40 countries in 30 languages.
Philosophers Index*

  Routledge Religion Resource
Service = Routledge

Consists of the contents of about 30 key religion reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical sources) on many aspects of religious studies. Titles include Encyclopedia of Protestantism, The Papacy: an Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia of Early Christianity, The Encyclopedia of Ethics, The Reformation World.
Routledge Religion Resource

Selected eBooks

  Credo Reference: Philosophy
Service = Credo Reference formerly Xrefer

Search resources related to Philosophy in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference: Philosophy

  New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Service = Thomson Gale

The publication of the New Dictionary of the History of Ideas marks the return of a reference work that is an essential tool to make the often complex history of "what we think" accessible to students and general readers. The original 1974 Dictionary of the History of Ideas has long been admired as a landmark document encapsulating the thinking of an era. This thoroughly re-envisioned New Dictionary of the History of Ideas brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society. A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas

  Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Service = Routledge

In addition to the full content of the classic 10-volume set which remains at its core and regular additions of new articles, REP Online also provides editorially reviewed links to other sites and resources on the web, revisions and updates of key entries. It contains a wide breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy, and over 25,000 hot-linked cross-references between articles and new links to other editorially reviewed websites.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

  Routledge Religion Resource
Service = Routledge

Consists of the contents of about 30 key religion reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical sources) on many aspects of religious studies. Titles include Encyclopedia of Protestantism, The Papacy: an Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia of Early Christianity, The Encyclopedia of Ethics, The Reformation World.
Routledge Religion Resource