Selected Web Sites


AAHN Research Resources
Links to other nonprofit, education, and government websites relevant to nursing history.

AJN The American Journal of Nursing
Published annually in January issue of AJN. Annotated list of the most valuable nursing books of the year as chosen by American Journal of Nursing panel of judges. Books are listed by nursing specialty.

American Nurses Association
Links to state nurses associations and allied nursing organizations globally.

CDC - National Center for Health Statistics Homepage
Health Statistics and Facts

CDC | National Center for Environmental Health
"Contains direct links to NCEH data resources, programs and campaigns, publications and products, emergency response, and training." From Choice Reviews Feb. 2006.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
For each of the Health & Safety Topics and the specific groups listed on the homepage, there is very specific information and statistics for every topic. An in-depth and useful resource!

Doody's Core Titles 2011 - The Essential Collection Development
Aims to fill the void created by the discontinuation of the Brandon/Hill Selected Lists for the small medical library, nursing, and allied health. Book selectors include nurses and librarians.

Doody's Review Service - Welcome
This web-based journal offers stuctured expert revies of medical, nursing, and allied health books and software.

Drugs@FDA
"A searchable database of FDA-approved brand name and generic drugs"

For Health Care Professionals
For Health Care Professionals

GlobalHealth.gov


Growth Charts - Homepage
"A searchable database of FDA-approved brand name and generic drugs"

Hardin MD : Nursing & Nursing Research
Links to subject directories for nursing.

Health Topics: MedlinePlus
Contains links to up-to-date consumer health information from the National Institutes of Health

healthfinder.gov - Your Source for Reliable Health Information
Consumer health information from the U.S. government

Home - ClinicalTrials.gov
Linking patients to medical research.

Illinois Department of Public Health Home Page


Illinois Department of Public Health Statistics
Health Indicators

Index of /pubserv/sgcs
Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretitive Statements. Washington DC:

Intute - Medicine including dentistry
UK gateway to high quality biomedical resources. Includes database access to resources included in NMAP, a guide to quality Internet resources in nursing. midwifery, and allied health professions.

Legal Eagle Eye Newsletter for the Nursing Profession Home Page


LocatorPlus - Version I


Medicare.gov - Nursing Home Compare - Search Criteria
Medicare.gov

MedlinePlus - Health Information from the National Library of Me
Information on various health topics, drug information, directories of hospitals, doctors, and libraries, health tutorials, and current news.

MerckMedicus : Home


Midwifery, Nursing, and Obstetrics Manuscript Collections at NLM
ACNM Archives, 1945-1994.

Midwifery, Nursing, and Obstetrics Manuscript Collections at NLM
Compiled and Edited by W. Sandler & J. P. Rees

MLA Collection Development Section - Medical Library Association
Subject-based resource lists. Links to print/web-based resources and bibliographies for many health sciences, including nursing.

Mount Sinai - Brandon Hill Selected Lists - Levy Library
Hill, D. R. & Stickell, H. N. (2002). Nursing Outlook, May-June 50(3), 100-113. Final print version of this list includes 370 books and 86 serials, including one nursing index.

National Institute of Nursing Research


National League for Nursing - Startpage


NCPW - National Consumer Protection Week
A 'one-stop' link to a broad range of federal information resources available online.

NICEM Film and Video Finder Online
Covers videotapes, films, audiocassettes, filmstrips, and other nonprint educational media. Records date back to 1900. Includes > 454,000 indexed items.

Notes from the Healthweb and Nursosphere « Off the Charts
Healthweb nursing

Nursing
Links to member libraries, section activities, current research. Includes link to Key and Electronic Nursing Journals: Characteristics and Database Coverage, an essential tool for evaluating nursing journals.

Nursing on the Net: A Web Sampler of Resources for Nursing Profe


Nursing Resources | Health Sciences Library McMaster University
McMaster University's metasite.

Nursing Theory Page
McMaster University's metasite.

NursingCenter - Home
Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins gives practicing nurses, researchers, and educators direct access to powerful educational opportunities and information. Includes CE articles in full text with immediate test results and certificates

Nutrition.gov
"provides easy access to the best food and nutrition information from across the federal government."

O*NET OnLine


OJIN: The Online Journal of Issues in Nursing
A high quality example of a totally electronic, freely available nursing journal, published by Kent State University School of Nursing in partnership with American Nurses Association.

Science.gov : USA.gov for Science - Government Science Portal
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Gives the values of scientific constants and explains the SI measurement system

The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International
Databases about nurse researchers and research, including abstracts of STTI & other nursing research conferences, table of contents for STTI publications Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing, Journal of Nursing Scholarship, and more.

The Medical Heritage Library : Free Texts : Download & Streaming


TOXMAP - TRI and Superfund Environmental Maps
An environmental quality database provided by the US National Library of Medicine, is designed for nontechnical people interested in learning about air and water pollutants in their area.

U S Food and Drug Administration Home Page


United Nations Publications
Allows you to search their catalogues of over 4,800 titles by subject, keyword, title, ISBN, Publisher, Series, Department, Langauge, and Date. Once you find the a title of interest, use I-Share or WorldCat to look up and request specific items.

Welcome to NP Central!
Nonprofit site dedicated to practice development, advancement, and educational support of nurse practitioners and to the promotion of accessible, quality health care to the consumer.

Zwerdling Nursing Archives
Postcards of Nursing: A Worldwide Tribute. Chosen by American Journal of Nursing as 2004 Nursing Book of the Year.

Submit a question or suggest a link.