Nursing

Databases

   Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier

   ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Service = EBSCO

Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals (518 currently indexed), more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, and more than 511,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

   CINAHL Complete
Service = EBSCO

Comprehensive source for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL. It has more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.
CINAHL Complete
 
   Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Service = EBSCO

Cochrane Controlled Trials Register is a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials

   Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Service = EBSCO

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

   Cochrane Health Technology Assessments
Service = EBSCO

The Health Technology Assessments (HTA) database provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The aim of the database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care. In addition to systematic reviews, HTA contains ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires and economic evaluations.
Cochrane Health Technology Assessments

   Cochrane Methodology Register
Service = EBSCO

The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) is a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books and conference proceedings; these articles are taken from the MEDLINE database and from hand searches. The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and in some cases, a summary of the article. CMR is produced by the UK Cochrane Centre, on behalf of the Cochrane Methodology Review Group.
Cochrane Methodology Register

   Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
Service = EBSCO

Features abstracts & indexing for nearly 850 journals (550 are full text and 450 are peer-reviewed) focusing on many medical disciplines. Text dates back to 1975.
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition

   Medical Images Collection
Service = EBSCO

Medical Images Collection found within EBSCO's Consumer Health Complete database.
Medical Images Collection

   Medline
Service = EBSCO

MEDLINE with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, 528 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.
Medline

   Micromedex
Service = Thomson Reuters

Evidence based information from Micromedex. This includes all the unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine you need to make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions.
Micromedex

   Nursing & Allied Health Source
Service = ProQuest_Platform 2011

Reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more
Nursing & Allied Health Source

   Trip - Clinical Research
Service = Trip

A tool to find and use high-quality evidence-based research.

To link from the Trip citations to actual articles that may be available in Benner library's e-resource collection:
Create a login. Go to settings. Mid-way down the page under Institution select Olivet Nazarene University and then press “Save Changes.”
Trip - Clinical Research
 

Selected eBooks

   AAFP Conditions A-Z (2014)
Service = Teton Data Systems

A patient-information tool written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP).
AAFP Conditions A-Z (2014)
 
   Adult-gerontology and family nurse practitioner certification
Service = eBrary

Includes the content you’ll encounter on the exam.
Adult-gerontology and family nurse practitioner certification
 
   Davis's NCLEX-RN Success
Service = Teton Data Systems

Sally Lambert Lagerquist’s study plan
Davis's NCLEX-RN Success
 
   Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Service = EBSCO

Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
 
   MedCalc 3000
Service = Teton Data Systems

Medical reference and tool set which encompasses a wide array of pertinent medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools used every day by clinicians, medical educators, nurses and health care students of all types. There is a growing emphasis and application of Evidence Based Medicine.
MedCalc 3000
 
   OVID Nursing eBooks
Service = OVID

Collection of nursing eBooks from OVID.
OVID Nursing eBooks

   Salem Health
Service = Salem Press

Salem Health includes Salem Press’ five volume Magill’s Medical Guide. an authoritative reference source that bridges the gap between medical encyclopedias and popular self-help guides. It is an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research, general readers, patients and caregivers. The Guide covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. Includes illustrations and sidebars, indexes, appendixes, and cross-references.
Salem Health

Selected eJournals

   International Journal of Nursing Education Scholarship
Service = Walter de Gruyter, Inc.

Publishes fully electronic peer-reviewed research nursing journal articles, including theory, research, innovations, issues and perspectives about nursing education.
International Journal of Nursing Education Scholarship

   Journal of Christian Nursing
Service = OVID

JCN offers relevant peer-reviewed clinical and professional information, including original research, on: current issues and trends, spirituality and spiritual care, ethics, values, healing and wholeness, faith community nursing, healthcare missions, nursing education, personal growth and self-care, health care for the poor and disenfranchised, and nursing care experiences which promote excellence and encourage nurses.
Journal of Christian Nursing

   Journal of Homeland Security & Emergency Management
Service = Walter de Gruyter, Inc.

The Journal of Homeland Security and Emergency Management publishes peer-reviewed articles, news and communiqués from researchers and practitioners, and book/media reviews in the fields of engineering, political science, public administration, policy analysis, decision science, and health and medicine, as they relate to homeland security and emergency management.
Journal of Homeland Security & Emergency Management

   OVID Nursing Fulltext Journals
Service = OVID

Collection of electronic nursing journals from OVID
OVID Nursing Fulltext Journals