Nursing
Databases
Search the starred databases all at once:
Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides
full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed
titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals,
and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on
a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier
ATLA Religion Index
Service = OCLC
A religion index that includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays, and book reviews from three ATLA print indexes: Religion Index One, Religion Index Two, and Index to Book Reviews in Religion, as well as international titles and multi-author works. Spans over 50 years with selected records going back to 1818, covering over 1500 journals.
ATLA Religion Index
CINAHL Plus
Service = EBSCO
Comprehensive source for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL. It has more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.
CINAHL Plus*
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Service = EBSCO
Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
Service = EBSCO
Features abstracts & indexing for nearly 850 journals (550 are full text and 450 are peer-reviewed) focusing on many medical disciplines. Text dates back to 1975.
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition*
MEDLINE
Service = EBSCO
All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. Includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts.
MEDLINE
Micromedex
Service = Thomson
Access is password protected. Username and Password are available on Nursing course Blackboard pages or from the Library Reference Desk (815) 939-5355. Micromedex has information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.
Micromedex
PsycINFO
Service = OCLC
Psychology and related fields since 1806. including international material from periodicals written in over 25 languages. Includes current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present.
PsycINFO
Selected eBooks
Credo Reference: Medicine
Service = Credo Reference formerly Xrefer
Search resources related to Medicine in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference: Medicine
Counties and Their Cultures
Service = Advameg Inc.
Excellent resource! :-)
Countries and Their Cultures
Journal of Homeland Security & Emergency Management
Service = Berkeley Electronic Press (bepress)
The Journal of Homeland Security and Emergency Management publishes peer-reviewed articles, news and communiqués from researchers and practitioners, and book/media reviews in the fields of engineering, political science, public administration, policy analysis, decision science, and health and medicine, as they relate to homeland security and emergency management.
Journal of Homeland Security & Emergency Management
OVID Nursing eBooks
Service = OVID
Collection of Nursing eBooks from OVID
OVID Nursing eBooks
Salem Health
Service = Salem Press
Salem Health includes Salem Press' five volume Magill's Medical Guide. an authoritative reference source that bridges the gap between medical encyclopedias and popular self-help guides. It is an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research, general readers, patients and caregivers. The Guide covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. with illustrations and sidebars, indexes, appendixes, and cross-references.
Salem Health
Selected eJournals
OVID Nursing Fulltext Journals
Service = OVID
Collection of electronic Nursing Journals from OVID
OVID Nursing Fulltext Journals
Other Resources
Class Guides
Department Handbooks
Websites
Research Aids
Citation & Format Guides
APA /
MLA
Tips & Tutorials