News
Databases
Search the starred databases all at once:
Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides
full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed
titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals,
and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on
a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier*
AP Images
Service = Associated Press
Primary source database that takes users on a sensory journey of photographs, audio, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. Over 2 million photographs dating back 1826, more than 1 million sound bites dating from the 1920's, 2 million AP news stories from 1997, and collections of maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and illustrations are included. Updated with more than 3 thousand photos daily.
AP Images
Chicago Sun Times
Service = LexisNexis
Coverage from 01/01/1992 to present.
Chicago Sun Times
Chicago Tribune (Current)
Service = ProQuest
Provides reporting and analysis of Midwest regional, national, and international news.
Chicago Tribune (Current)
Chicago Tribune (Historical)
Service = ProQuest
The Chicago Tribune (1849-1986) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Chicago Tribune (Historical)
Chronicle of Higher Education
Service = The Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and job listings for people in academe; the website articles date from September 1989; also contains vibrant discussion forums, career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Communication and Mass Media
Service = EBSCO
A research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected coverage of over 230 more. Includes full text for more than 240 journals.
Communication and Mass Media
CQ Weekly
Service = CQ Press
Expert coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. Produced by the largest news team on Capitol Hill.
CQ Weekly
Harper's Weekly
Service = Harper's Weekly
A 19th century illustrated newspaper, searchable by keyword, subject headings and additional finding aids.
Harper's Weekly
LexisNexis Academic
Service = LexisNexis
Academic (Lexis-Nexis) provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. Newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Gallup Poll News
Service = Lexis Nexis
The Gallup Poll News Service is the internet's leading polling-based news source. The Gallup Poll News Service provides news centered on public opinion. Published each business day, articles from the Gallup Poll News Service analyze findings and trends in politics, business, social issues, and Americans' lifestyles.
LexisNexis Gallup Poll News
LexisNexis News
Service = Lexis Nexis
Search across large groups of sources such as all English-language news or all U.S. newspapers, or select one of the individual titles included in the drop-down list such as The New York Times. Many titles are available on the Sources tab.
LexisNexis News*
Newspaper Source
Service = EBSCO
Cover-to-cover full text for 25 national & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), and Toronto Star. Contains selected full text for more than 260 regional newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and NPR.
Newspaper Source*
New York Times (Historical)
Service = ProQuest
The New York Times (1851-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage: Sept 18, 1851-Dec 31, 2003.
New York Times (Historical)
New York Times
Service = LexisNexis
Coverage from 06/01/1980 to present.
New York Times
Regional Business News
Service = EBSCO
Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
Regional Business News
World News Digest
Service = Facts on File News Service
Includes a live Reuters newsfeed, "Top Stories" timelines deliver, decade by decade, listings linked to original coverage of top news stories back to October 1940. Includes original feature essays, primary documents, editorial cartoons, and selection of newspaper editorials. "Ahead In Time" and "Back In Time" links allow researchers to follow the thread of one story as it develops. Hundreds of thousands of other editorial web links. Hundreds of photos, maps, charts, and graphs are included.
World News Digest*
Other Resources
Websites
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Service = Library of Congress
Contains more than 226,000 pages of public-domain newspapers from California, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, Virginia and the District of Columbia published between 1900 and 1910.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Google News
NewsVoyager
NewsVoyager.com is the ultimate "newspaper portal," a comprehensive gateway to newspaper Web Sites around the world. Newspapers are the leading providers of local information online, including news, classifieds, arts and entertainment guides, community information, sports, shopping and much more.
NewsVoyager
Science News Resources
The New York Times Website
Research Aids
Citation & Format Guides
APA /
MLA
Dictionaries
Tips & Tutorials