Music

Databases

   Classical Music in Video
Service = Alexander Street Press

1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video—approximately 1,500 performances in all. The collection contains performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Classical Music in Video

   JStor
Service = JSTOR (ITHAKA)

An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
JStor

   Naxos Music Library
Service = Naxos of America Inc.

Online classical music library that offers streaming access to more than 17,000 CDs with more than 250,000 tracks. Offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others; and there is also jazz, film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content. Resources offered by NML include synopses of over 700 operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names and a glossary of musical terms. A comprehensive online encyclopedia of classical music is in development. Music for Kids allows primary school teachers to teach young children how to sing and dance and the Story of Classical Music is an interactive entry-level course on all aspects of classical music. Provides playing times of individual works or movements, detailed music notes, and opera libretti. Subscribers can also create personalized playlists. It can be searched by composer, work and label; by keyword search and by a sophisticated advanced search engine with up to 10 combined search criteria.
Naxos Music Library

Selected eBooks

   Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Service = Gale Cengage Learning

Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music, and religion from a specific period, each volume in this five-volume set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume. Nine chapters follow, covering the major branches of the humanities: architecture and design, dance, fashion, literature, music, philosophy, religion, theater, and visual arts. Chapters begin with a chronology of major events within the discipline followed by articles covering the movements, schools of thought, and masterworks that characterize the discipline during the era and biographical profiles of pioneers, masters, and other prominent figures in the field. Chapters end with significant bibliography of primary documents from the period.
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras

   Credo Reference: Music
Service = Credo Reference

Search resources related to Music in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference: Music

   Oxford Music Online
Service = Oxford University Press

Oxford Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002). Articles that have been updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen.
Oxford Music Online

Selected eJournals

   The Arts in Psychotherapy
Service = Elsevier B.V.

The Arts in Psychotherapy publishes 5 issues per annum, and is an international journal for professionals in the fields of mental health and education. The journal publishes peer-reviewed articles (including illustrations) by art, dance/movement, drama, music, and poetry psychotherapists, as well as psychiatrists, psychologists and creative arts therapists, that reflect the theory and practice of these disciplines. There are no restrictions on philosophical orientation or application. The Arts in Psychotherapy reports news and comments on national and international conferences and current education information relevant to the creative arts in therapy. The journal also includes book reviews, invites letters to the Editors, and welcomes dialogue between contributors.
The Arts in Psychotherapy