MSCI 121 & 122
Leadership & Decision Making

Reference sources | Finding Books | Finding Articles | Government Documents
Links from College Writing II: Citation Style | Presentation Tips


Reference Sources

Online Reference Sources

American National Biography 
The ANB Online is a collection of biographies Americans that are deceased prior to 1996. It includes features and materials not available in the print edition including illustrations, internal cross-references within the biographies, and links to external online resources.

Biography Index 
Biography Index: Past and Present is a trusted, biographical resource. Featuring retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946, it combines retrospective coverage with current indexing to produce a comprehensive biographical resource for students, scholars, media professionals, book clubs, and all researchers seeking biographical information. Content Includes: Over a million article and book citations Retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946 Coverage of present-day news-makers Entries on individuals that reflect the perspective of the time when they were written

Biography Reference Bank 
Wilson's largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!

Newsmaker Profiles 
Biographies from World News Digest Newsmaker Profiles

World News Digest 
Includes a live Reuters newsfeed, "Top Stories" timelines deliver, decade by decade, listings linked to original coverage of top news stories back to October 1940. Includes original feature essays, primary documents, editorial cartoons, and selection of newspaper editorials. "Ahead In Time" and "Back In Time" links allow researchers to follow the thread of one story as it develops. Hundreds of thousands of other editorial web links. Hundreds of photos, maps, charts, and graphs are included.

Dictionary of American History 
Continually updated from its original 1940 edition, this authoritative work covers a wide range of topics in American history.

Humanities E-Book 
Fully searchable collection of 1000+ high-quality books in history from 75 publishers, recommended and reviewed by historians.


Finding Books

BLISweb 
Benner Library's Online Catalog.

I-Share 
80 Academic libraries in Illinois. Request books using the barcode number on your student ID.

WorldCat 
OCLC catalog of books and other materials that libraries own worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records, including records representing 400 languages.

Suggested keywords:

memoir AND military

Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) :

Military bases -- United States
Personal narratives
United States Army
World War, 1939-1945
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 --Personal narratives, American

U.S. Army Chief of Staff’s Professional Reading List (.pdf)

Selected Books at Olivet

  • Almanac of World War I / David F. Burg and L. Edward Purcell ; introduction by William Manchester. 1998
    Call Number: R 940.3 B91a


  • War Lords: Military commanders of the twentieth century / by Sir Michael Carver. 1976
    Call Number: 923.5c W195


  • Masters of the art of command / Martin Blumenson, James L. Stokesbury. 1975
    Call Number: 355.33 B627m


  • Military biography of Generalissimo Rafael Leonidas Trujillo Molina, Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces / Translated by Ida Espaillat. 1956 Call Number: 923.17293 T769v


  • Reflections of a Civil War historian [electronic resource] : essays on leadership, society, and the art of war / Herman Hattaway ; foreword by Frank F. Vandiver. 2004


  • Makers of the United States Air Force / John L. Frisbee. 1996
    Call Number: 358.400973 F917m


  • Men of West Point; The first 150 years of the United States Military Academy 1951
    Call Number: 355.09 D929m

Selected Books Available in I-Share

  • Aftermath : the problems communities face after a military installation closes / a joint project of the CONEG Policy Research Center, inc. [and] the Northeast-Midwest Institute 1978


  • Conversion of deactivated military installation housing to low-income housing / by Jaclynne O'Neill Bobela. 1990


  • Military Living's United States military installation road map / William Roy, L. Ann and R.J. Crawford. 2002


  • Rand McNally United States military installation guide. 1986


  • Economic impact of a military installation on the surrounding area : a case study of Fort Devens and Ayer, Massachusetts / by Ian Donald Terner. 1965

Selected Books in WorldCat

  • Encyclopedia of historic forts : the military, pioneer, and trading posts of the United States
    Author: Roberts, Robert B.
    Publication: New York : Macmillan ; London : Collier Macmillan, 1988


  • Advancing the frontier, 1830-1860
    Author: Foreman, Grant, 1869-1953.
    Publication: Norman, The University of Oklahoma press, 1933


  • A guide to the military posts of the United States, 1789-1895.
    Author: Prucha, Francis Paul.
    Publication: Madison, State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1964


  • Directory of military bases in the U.S.
    Author: Evinger, William R.,
    Publication: Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 1991


  • Homefront : a military city and the American twentieth century
    Author: Lutz, Catherine.
    Publication: Boston : Beacon Press, 2001


  • Redesigning defense : planning the transition to the future U.S. defense industrial base.
    Publication: Washington, DC : Congress of the United States, Office of Technology Assessment, 1991

Finding Articles & Multimedia Resources

Newspaper Source 
Cover-to-cover full text for 25 national & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), and Toronto Star. Contains selected full text for more than 260 regional newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and NPR.

New York Times (Historical) 
The New York Times (1851-2008) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage: Sept 18, 1851-Dec 31, 2003.

AP Images (AP) 
Primary source database that takes users on a sensory journey of photographs, audio, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. Over 2 million photographs dating back 1826, more than 1 million sound bites dating from the 1920’s, 2 million AP news stories from 1997, and collections of maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags and illustrations are included. Updated with more than 3 thousand photos daily.

Military & Government Collection 
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. It provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals plus full text for 245 pamphlets; it offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

JStor 
An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.

Project Muse 
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from about 150 scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.


Government Documents

Database

Description

GPO Monthly Catalog Search hearings, and a variety of other agency publications. ONU has some in our collection. Others may be requested through I-Share or WorldCat
GPO Access
  • Legislative Resources (Congressional Bills, Public and Private Laws)
  • Executive Resources (Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Presidential Materials)
  • Judicial Resources
  • Core Documents of U.S. Democracy

Websites