MSCI 121 & 122
Leadership & Decision Making

Reference sources | Finding Books | Finding Articles | Government Documents
Links from College Writing II: Citation Style | Presentation Tips


Reference Sources

Online Reference Sources

Database

Description

American National Biography

Biographies of more than 17,400 Americans.
Biography Index

Indexes articles, books, and autobiographies for biographical subjects.

Newsmaker Profiles

Biographies from World News Digest
Dictionary of American History
Continually updated from its original 1940 edition, this authoritative work covers a wide range of topics in American history.
History eBook Project Fully searchable collection of 1000+ high-quality books in history from 75 publishers, recommended and reviewed by historians.

Finding Books

Online catalog

Description

BLISweb Olivet's holdings
I-Share 65 partner libraries in Illinois. Request books using the barcode number on your student ID
WorldCat
National and International library holdings

Suggested keywords:

+memoir +military

Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) :

Military bases -- United States
Personal narratives
United States Army
World War, 1939-1945
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 --Personal narratives, American

U.S. Army Chief of Staff’s Professional Reading List (.pdf)

Selected Books at Olivet

  • Who's who in twentieth century warfare [electronic resource] / Spencer Tucker. 2001


  • Almanac of World War I / David F. Burg and L. Edward Purcell ; introduction by William Manchester. 1998
    Call Number: R 940.3 B91a


  • War Lords: Military commanders of the twentieth century / by Sir Michael Carver. 1976
    Call Number: 923.5c W195


  • Masters of the art of command / Martin Blumenson, James L. Stokesbury. 1975
    Call Number: 355.33 B627m


  • Military biography of Generalissimo Rafael Leonidas Trujillo Molina, Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces / Translated by Ida Espaillat. 1956 Call Number: 923.17293 T769v


  • Reflections of a Civil War historian [electronic resource] : essays on leadership, society, and the art of war / Herman Hattaway ; foreword by Frank F. Vandiver. 2004


  • Makers of the United States Air Force / John L. Frisbee. 1996
    Call Number: 358.400973 F917m


  • Men of West Point; The first 150 years of the United States Military Academy 1951
    Call Number: 355.09 D929m

Selected Books Available in I-Share

  • Aftermath : the problems communities face after a military installation closes / a joint project of the CONEG Policy Research Center, inc. [and] the Northeast-Midwest Institute 1978


  • Conversion of deactivated military installation housing to low-income housing / by Jaclynne O'Neill Bobela. 1990


  • Military Living's United States military installation road map / William Roy, L. Ann and R.J. Crawford. 2002


  • Rand McNally United States military installation guide. 1986


  • Economic impact of a military installation on the surrounding area : a case study of Fort Devens and Ayer, Massachusetts / by Ian Donald Terner. 1965

Selected Books in WorldCat

  • Encyclopedia of historic forts : the military, pioneer, and trading posts of the United States
    Author: Roberts, Robert B.
    Publication: New York : Macmillan ; London : Collier Macmillan, 1988


  • Advancing the frontier, 1830-1860
    Author: Foreman, Grant, 1869-1953.
    Publication: Norman, The University of Oklahoma press, 1933


  • A guide to the military posts of the United States, 1789-1895.
    Author: Prucha, Francis Paul.
    Publication: Madison, State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1964


  • Directory of military bases in the U.S.
    Author: Evinger, William R.,
    Publication: Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 1991


  • Homefront : a military city and the American twentieth century
    Author: Lutz, Catherine.
    Publication: Boston : Beacon Press, 2001


  • Redesigning defense : planning the transition to the future U.S. defense industrial base.
    Publication: Washington, DC : Congress of the United States, Office of Technology Assessment, 1991

Finding Articles & Multimedia Resources

Database

Description

Newspaper Source

Current news coverage. Fulltext from major U.S. and International papers and U.S. regional publications.
New York Times (Historical)
1851-2003
Accunet AP Multimedia Archive Images, text, graphics, and audio files.
Military & Government Collection

Current news and needs of all branches of the military and
government.
JStor Fulltext, scholarly articles.
Project Muse Partial fulltext, scholarly articles.

Government Documents

Database

Description

GPO Monthly Catalog Search hearings, and a variety of other agency publications. ONU has some in our collection. Others may be requested through I-Share or WorldCat
GPO Access
  • Legislative Resources (Congressional Bills, Public and Private Laws)
  • Executive Resources (Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Presidential Materials)
  • Judicial Resources
  • Core Documents of U.S. Democracy

Websites