Military Science

Databases

   Academic Search Premier
Service = EBSCO

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Academic Search Premier

   American History in Video
Service = Alexander Street Press

Collection of video available for the study of American history-2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. A Critical Video Edition, American History in Video's suite of tools-searches and browses powered by Semantic Indexing and searchable transcripts synchronized to video—give the ability to drill down in seconds to find the footage of interest from thousands of hours of video. This collection is an exclusive collaboration with A&E Television Networks and features some of their most important documentaries and series from The History Channel®, A&E Network®, and Biography®. Historical coverage ranges from the early history of Native Americans, to the lost colony of Roanoke, to the 1988 Vicennes Affair in the Persian Gulf. Biographical coverage ranges from eighteenth century figures such as Benedict Arnold and Daniel Boone to modern day figures such as Thurgood Marshall and Helen Thomas.
American History in Video

   Criminal Justice Periodicals
Service = ProQuest_Platform 2011

Comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. The database provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. Periodicals
Criminal Justice Periodicals

   GPO Monthly Catalog
Service = OCLC (305)

Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Includes a bibliographic citation in each record.
GPO Monthly Catalog

   History Study Center
Service = ProQuest - Chadwyck Healey

History Study Center™ includes over 40,000 documents of historical reference material from ancient times through today's current events. This database consists of seven integrated resources that can be cross-searched through a single interface: 1) Study Units-500+ Study Units containing 30-80 items; 2) Reference Works-20,000+ articles from atlases, biographical collections, encyclopedias, and research guides; 3) Picture Library-3,000+ captioned historical photos, political cartoons, woodcuts; 4) Video Library-hundreds of historical video clips, captioned for context and searching; 5) Web Gateway-annotated links to thousands of reliable web sites, from the major primary source collections down to individual pages; 6) KnowledgeNotes™ History Guides-text-based topic guides about trends, events, and the science of history; and 7) Journal Library-cover-to-cover full text of 60 journals.
History Study Center

   Military & Government Collection
Service = EBSCO

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. It provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals plus full text for 245 pamphlets; it offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
Military & Government Collection

   World History in Video
Service = Alexander Street Press

A collection of documentaries that explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.
World History in Video

Selected eBooks

   Dictionary of American History
Service = Gale Cengage Learning

Continually updated from its original 1940 edition, this authoritative work covers a wide range of topics in American history.
Dictionary of American History

   Humanities E-Book
Service = American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS)

Fully searchable collection of 1000+ high-quality books in history from 75 publishers, recommended and reviewed by historians.
Humanities E-Book

   The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology
Service = Oxford University Press

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology examines all aspects of warfare and military technology in medieval times. Approximately 1,000 articles signed by the leading experts in medieval military history provide an exhaustive and accurate view of how and why wars were waged throughout Europe, the Byzantine Empire, and the Crusader States between 500 C.E. to 1500. Contains articles on military leaders; battles; sieges; individual fortresses; and military technology focusing on subjects such as armor, navigational techniques, and siege warfare tactics. In addition, each regional overview—such as Britain, the Byzantine Empire, and Hungary—includes a discussion of primary sources, an introductory narrative, and an entry on historiography providing a depth and breadth of coverage not found in any other resource on the subject.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology