LIT 318: Shakespeare

In class handouts:
Suggested reference sources at Benner &
Search tips for BLISweb & Literature Online

Finding books in online catalogs

Library Catalog | I-Share
Do a Subject search for “Shakespeare AND_____” Or, after doing a keyword search, narrow your results using the “topics” on the right side of the screen (see images on in-class handout)

Finding Shakespeare using the Dewey Decimal System

How to use the Shakespearean Criticism

Finding reference citations

Literary Index
This free database is “a master index to author and title listings from over 130 literature products from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers [including Shakespearean Criticism]….The referenced products themselves [are typically print books found in library reference collections and] will contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.” Of all of the Gale books in this free online index, Benner only owns these titles:

Exploring Poetry: 821.08 R727e (3rd floor)

Shakespearean Criticism: R 822.33 DC679s (1st floor)

Author Search

Title Search

Finding Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Premier 
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

MLA Bibliography 
The MLA International Bibliography is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run, and currently contains more than 2 million records. In addition, the MLA Directory of Periodicals gives full information on over 7,100 journals and book series.

Literature Online 
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 197 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

JStor 
An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.

Benner's print journal subscriptions

Helpful Links

How to Analyze a Shakespearean Sonnet

Complete list of Shakespeare’s plays (Open Source Shakespeare at George Mason University)

Suggestions for Writing About Shakespeare