Literature
Databases
Search the starred databases all at once:
JStor
Service = JStor
An archive of scholarly journal historical issues of high-resolution, scanned images of journal articles as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived span many disciplines. JSTOR is not a current issues database so there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
JStor*
Literature Online
Service = ProQuest
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 197 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Online*
MagillOnLiterature
Service = EBSCO
Composed of 35,000 critical analyses of individual works, 6,500 biographical records, over 1,000 images, and a glossary of 1,310 terms, MagillOnLiterature Plus contains editorially reviewed critical essays, brief plot summaries, character profiles, and setting discussions covering works by more than 8,500 fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers, and also biographical essays reflecting coverage of 2,500 authors and their principal works and current secondary bibliographies. Also, 395 genre-driven overview essays provide details about literary genres, time periods, and national literatures.
MagillOnLiterature
MLA Bibliography
Service = OCLC
Covering the subjects of literature, language, linguistics and folklore, MLA Bibliography provides over one million citations for items from journals and series published worldwide. It indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies, each record containing a bibliographic citation for a journal article, book, or other item including information about the libraries that own the library resources.
MLA Bibliography*
NoveList
Service = EBSCO
NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, and annotations for over 135,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists. For school media specialists and teachers there are Picture Book Extenders and articles on Teaching with Fiction.
NoveList
Project Muse
Service = Project Muse
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Project Muse
Selected eBooks
John Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Service = JHUP (Johns Hopkins University Press)
The Johns Hopkins Online Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism is compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, presenting a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements, including more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
John Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Other Resources
Class Guides
Websites
Research Aids
Citation & Format Guides
APA /
MLA
Dictionaries
Tips & Tutorials