Law
Databases
Search the starred databases all at once:
CQ Researcher
Service = CQ Press
The CQ Researcher Online contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Controversial topics are addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner in the CQ tradition.
CQ Researcher
CQ Weekly
Service = CQ Press
Expert coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. Produced by the largest news team on Capitol Hill.
CQ Weekly
Criminal Justice Periodicals
Service = ProQuest
Comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. The database provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
Criminal Justice Periodicals
GPO Monthly
Service = OCLC
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Includes a bibliographic citation in each record.
GPO Monthly Catalog
LexisNexis Legal Research
Service = Lexis Nexis
Use the Legal tab to search within law review journals, federal and state cases or codes, tax law, and international legislation.
LexisNexis Legal Research
Military & Government Collection
Service = EBSCO
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. It provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals plus full text for 245 pamphlets; it offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
Military & Government Collection
Westlaw Campus Research
Service = Thomson West
Provides students with access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources. It is divided into two content tabs, "News and Business" and "Law." An advanced search feature provides boolean search connectors such as AND and OR to further refine searches.
Westlaw Campus Research
Selected eBooks
Credo Reference: Law
Service = Credo Reference formerly Xrefer
Search resources related to Law in Credo Reference, a customizable ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full text, aggregated content covers every major subject from over 50 publishers of reference materials.
Credo Reference: Law
ebrary eBooks
Service = ebrary
Fulltext access to 30,000+ books, reports and maps from leading academic publishers.
ebrary eBooks
Encyclopedia of Law & Society
Service = Sage Reference Online
Two aspects of scholarship about the legal systems of our day strike me as especially salient. The first is that, for the first time, there is a fair amount of genuine research on these legal systems. European scholars have for a long time talked about "legal science" (Rechtswissenschaft).
Encyclopedia of Law & Society
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Service = Thomson Gale
This six-volume edition of the 1987 Dartmouth Medal-winner includes all of the material from the original four-volume set and 1992 Supplement, as well as updated original articles and new articles covering concepts and court cases since 1992. Appendices include a case index and primary documents.
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
West's Encyclopedia of American Law
Service = Thomson Gale
Provides current information on 5,000+ legal topics.
West's Encyclopedia of American Law
Other Resources
Websites
Research Aids
Citation & Format Guides
APA /
MLA
Dictionaries
Tips & Tutorials